Scot Hibb's Killer Culinary Meal Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This is the best meatloaf ever!! Lots of tasty vegetables, it was great! I followed the recipe to a "T". I have a vita mix (commerical nutrition machine - like they make Orange Julius out of) and put everything in there, WONDERFUL! It will be a family favorite- my husband & 4 kids thought it was great too! **Always a plus**~ Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYJ4KIDOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I loved it! I halved the recipe because I only had one pound of ground beef. I, too, thought it seemed too moist before I baked it, so I added about a cup of breadcrumbs before baking. Deee-licious! I love recipes that have 'extenders' in them, for health and budget reasons. Thank you for sharing! This will be a regular in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLu
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
This was terrible. I wasted 2 lbs. gr. sirloin, plus all of the labor. Since veggies come in all sizes, maybe if measurements were used it might have come out better. It was so soupy I added the bread crumbs mentioned in the intro paragraph and that didn't even help. I also noticed in the listing of meat loaves, it was given ** but in the recipe itself it was given ****. The four star review was probably why I tried it. If I had seen the two stars, I wouldn't have made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I make a similar meatloaf frequently, using a one-pound bag of mixed vegetables, thawed and pureed in my food processor, with two eggs. It's actually a really great way to sneak in some extra veggies, and makes for a really delicious, juicy, flavorful meatloaf. I started to make this, but halfway in, I just couldn't complete the recipe as instructed. I would suggest using only half of the vegetables in this recipe, omit the potato entirely, and omit the extra seasonings; the vegetables really add a lot of flavor to the beef, and I think the seasonings compete with it. That is a LOT of Dijon mustard, and a large amount of dried herbs, which tend to be more potent than fresh anyway. I used the meat, vegetables, eggs, a few dashes of worcestershire sauce and a bit of extra salt, but nothing else, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This recipe is too mushy! I think the veggies should be a little less, especially the potato, it makes the meatloaf taste really starchy. Also I tried one fresh jalapeno instead of the cayenne pepper. And for herbs I used Thyme and Oregano. For the topping, after the meatloaf was cooked, I opened a small can of tomato sauce and put on top then cooked again for 15 minutes, but it did not help with the taste at all. This recipe is a definite flop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I really like this recipe because of all the veggies in it. I wanted a meat loaf that wasn't all meat. I like that there are carrots, potatoes, and celery in it. I also added some broccoli and mushrooms. This seems much healthier then your average meatloaf. I should add that i didn't use his measurments for the veggies either though, I just added the amount that I thought looked right. I also used uncooked rice instead of bread. It turned out good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I used ground turkey, so it may have altered the final result. The two flavors most prominent were carrot and rosemary. Suggest leaving out the rosemary if you’re not a fan of it. I did top it with a ketchup, brown sugar coating and it contrasted poorly with the overall flavor. Excluding the ketchup it was a very, very moist meatloaf that was too moist and vegetable tasting for most family members. If I was going to remake this recipe I would start by halving the vegetable mixture and reducing the carrot a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
I made this with all the veggies and no bread crumbs. Very tasty and oh so healthy. The texture was perfect for eating hot or slicing cold. Hold back some of the cayenne if you are feeding younger children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was a great compromise for hubby and me. He loves meat loaf, I like the vegetables. I took the recipe authors suggestion and used carrots, onions, peppers but no potatoes....and A-1 sauce. I halved the recipe except for the eggs - I only used one egg. Add what ever veggies you like - this was well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I have tryed this recipe many time before I seen this recipe....everything is the same.....I find when using puree vegetables you really have to use your judement when adding ingredients not to make it to moist but just moist enough. You can always use the pureed vegs for another dish. Add &/or subtract a few extra ingredients & use this recipe for spahetti sauce or lasgna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States