Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
First time ever making scones, followed the recipe with the one small change of using a stick of butter (1/2 cup)instead of 3/4 cup, frozen first and then grated into the flour mix. Quick and easy and they turned out amazing! Huge hit with the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I just tried this recipe...excellente!! with apricot jam!! Just wondering how it would taste if I use coconut milk instead of regular milk....next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Excellent, quick and easy. Just what I like. They had a warm buttery taste. I didn't "roll" out the dough, just flattened with my hands. Each wedge is a very good size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Alma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Loved the basic and simple recipe. My first scones ever and will definitely innovate and keep baking. I used cashew nuts.Soft and light. Thank You for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This has become my go-to recipe for scones, they have the lightness and texture that I really love. And you can mix in practically anything: so far, for sweet scones I have made blueberry & cream cheese, strawberry & cream cheese, chocolate chip, cinnamon chip, raspberry, blackberry, currant, and banana. For savory scones I omitted the sugar and made cheddar & chive, cheddar & jalapeno, Italian sausage, bell pepper & mozzarella, and even curry chicken (yes!). The savory scones go perfectly with a bowl of soup. I highly recommend this scone recipe, but at the same time I urge you to try your own flavor combinations, this recipe is very forgiving and takes anything you throw at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Tried these and they were wonderful, disappeared in 2 seconds. Great for unexpected visitors. added cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and the dough was far too gloppy to form a proper scone or biscuit. Made a pretty good muffin, but not what I look for in an authentic scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northlake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I make this recipe often, because my British hubby grew up having scones for tea every day. Lately I've been dipping them in sugar before baking. It becomes more like a Snickerdoodle that way. I was doing the eggwash and a sprinkle of sugar as shown in the video, but just dipping them in sugar is easier and looks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written (because I think that's how these recipes should be reviewed) and I was very happy with the results: good flavor, good texture (not too dry, not too moist), easy to handle dough, baked up according to directions. I will keep this recipe on file and make again. They are easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AURA5195
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
These were great! Very scone-like and just the perfect touch of sweetness. I followed the recipe exactly except that I pulled them out a couple minutes earlier than called for as mine were a little thinner. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States