Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
So easy and so delicious. They are a perfect texture. I made them GF with Gluten Free Cafe' all purpose Baking Mix and with Domino Light sugar and stevia blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe many times and any fault was my own; really don't melt the butter, it makes for a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missjess
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Amazing, and so easy to make. I've never made or eaten scones before, so I didn't know what to expect. I followed the recipe, with the exception of using a bit less milk, kneaded it a few times and then patted it into a round, flat shape with my hands and then used my pastry cutter to cut it into 8 pieces. I used the convection cooking on my stove, so I baked at 380F for 18 minutes. Can't wait to try it with some savory variations! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I'm still in awe at how good this recipe was. I used 3/4 cup half and half instead of milk and added 1/4 cup orange juice, 1/2 teaspoon orange rind, and 1/3 cup dried cranberries. I also glazed them with a mixture of water, orange juice, and powdered sugar. They were SO easy and the dough was literally so much fun to work with. They came out gorgeous. They look like they came from a bakery, but they taste even better. This is coming from a 15-year-old who ALWAYS manages to screw up a recipe, so take it from me, these are to die for. My family thinks I'm some sort of genius now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Easy to make, quick. You can do a lot with this recipe - I added cinnamon, current, and almonds to mine. I took them out right after 15 minutes and they seemed a little doughy but they set up really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
FANTASTIC! This recipe was great! Its super-simple, and fun too! We had them for breakfast and dessert. We didn't have white sugar so we used brown, and the dough turned out a bit darker but they still tasted really good, and we didn't even add fruit. This is a great recipe if you just feel like having some scones because its super easy and quick. I also think that they would taste great with cranberries or raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
fantastic! Light and fluffy and rose beautifully. I think next time I'll use less sugar - and maybe add some little extras just for fun. Overall, very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
VERY EASY TO MAKE, I made it with a few variations. I used half and half, a dash of cinnamon, I kneaded with my mixer hook for 2 minutes, I topped with egg wash and a little bit of tornado sugar on top. Decreased the temperature to 385 degrees because the first bash burned at the bottom. One thing I noticed that the texture is more like a biscuit that is a scone. In the end they came out delicious, they melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunasj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Used dark brown sugar in place of white, 3/4 cup of milk added maple syrup to make 1 cup and added scor bits...rave reviews from friends and family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This makes one VERY LARGE BATCH, be prepared. One recommendation suggested 3 tea of baking powder & 2 tea of baking soda, & adding one egg with enough milk to make 1 Cup. The consistency was great. I added 3/4 C walnuts & 3/4 C cranberries. I did pat it out and it was too soft to cut so I froze it for 10 minutes & it sliced perfectly. Cut into 12 scones the servings were a more reasonable size and calorie value. Will make again, but probably half the recipe next time. They puffed up so beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States