Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
These had a great flavour but they were way too soft and came out as fluffy as a biscuit, which would be wonderful if that is what you were looking to make. Scones should be much harder and denser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrync

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
LOVE it. Defiantly make this. It is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Very, very tasty and easy. I noticed butter pooling in the baking sheet when I took them out, so I'd cut down next time I make them. Protip. Make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Just finished making my own batch of these. I made mine with less flour and took off a little of each ingredient, because I used a mini cupcake pan to make mine. You can also try adding some lemon juice and poppy seeds, it turned out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Just easy and amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
The first time I made them they were awesome! Just now, the second time, I tried to substitute butter for Apple sauce and the dough went extremely sticky. To counter act, I added flour until it was "handleable" as I didn't know what else to do. Still delicious, but waaaay heavier. May use a different recipe with applesauce next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela McGee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Really great as drop-scones. Added about 2 tbs extra milk to get a nice soft dough. Added diced candied ginger as a little extra sweetness to combat the fairly high baking soda content. Turned out light and airy and completely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as is except I added some cinnamon to the mix and cinnamon sugar on top. They were amazing! I made them for a baby shower and everyone loved them. So much so that the mommy to be woke up a few mornings later craving my scones! I made a faux clotted cream and raspberry preserve to go along with them... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This recipe is excellent! My husband and I love the scones. The too wet dough can be resolved by adding more flour which is what I do and the scones are wonderful. Have used this recipe twice, adding in an extract and/or fruit to get the variaty I am wanting at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
The dough was too wet and crumbly, resulting in very fragile biscuits. Way too much baking powder. Next time I'll reduce the baking powder and liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States