Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Mine were a little dry, but they were still good warm with butter and raspberry jam. Enjoyed them with some tea during Downton Abbey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
These were delicious. I modified them to make grapefruit scones. I had a couple of ruby red grapefruits so I cut one up and added little pieces into the dough. I also put the egg into the measuring cup ( as other had suggested) and filled the measuring cup with half n half leaving about 1/8 of a cup for fresh squeezed grapefruit juice. Before they went into the oven I made a grapefruit glaze by whisking together grapefruit juice and powdered sugar with a little lemon zest and then brushed the tops of the scones generously. The grapefruit flavor was very subtle, they were delicious alone or with a little Devonshire cream. Heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I stirred in 1/2c mixed berry jam and a cup of white chocolate chip. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hillsboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Awesome;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
A good base recipe for sweet scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverChristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
So easy and so delicious. They are a perfect texture. I made them GF with Gluten Free Cafe' all purpose Baking Mix and with Domino Light sugar and stevia blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe many times and any fault was my own; really don't melt the butter, it makes for a mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missjess
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Amazing, and so easy to make. I've never made or eaten scones before, so I didn't know what to expect. I followed the recipe, with the exception of using a bit less milk, kneaded it a few times and then patted it into a round, flat shape with my hands and then used my pastry cutter to cut it into 8 pieces. I used the convection cooking on my stove, so I baked at 380F for 18 minutes. Can't wait to try it with some savory variations! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I'm still in awe at how good this recipe was. I used 3/4 cup half and half instead of milk and added 1/4 cup orange juice, 1/2 teaspoon orange rind, and 1/3 cup dried cranberries. I also glazed them with a mixture of water, orange juice, and powdered sugar. They were SO easy and the dough was literally so much fun to work with. They came out gorgeous. They look like they came from a bakery, but they taste even better. This is coming from a 15-year-old who ALWAYS manages to screw up a recipe, so take it from me, these are to die for. My family thinks I'm some sort of genius now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Easy to make, quick. You can do a lot with this recipe - I added cinnamon, current, and almonds to mine. I took them out right after 15 minutes and they seemed a little doughy but they set up really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 598) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States