Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as is except I added some cinnamon to the mix and cinnamon sugar on top. They were amazing! I made them for a baby shower and everyone loved them. So much so that the mommy to be woke up a few mornings later craving my scones! I made a faux clotted cream and raspberry preserve to go along with them... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This recipe is excellent! My husband and I love the scones. The too wet dough can be resolved by adding more flour which is what I do and the scones are wonderful. Have used this recipe twice, adding in an extract and/or fruit to get the variaty I am wanting at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
The recipe as written creates a dough which is too wet and crumbly, resulting in very fragile biscuits. Way too much baking powder resulted in, as someone else mentioned, a very pancake-like end product. Next time I'll reduce the baking powder and liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I wish I could give 10 stars! I was intimidated by scones, but I don't know why because this was so quick and easy! Same concept as making biscuits...make sure your butter is very cold when you cut it in. It's very important to know that you will not necessarily need to use the entire cup of milk or the entire egg...beat them together and pour it into the flour mixture in small amounts, just until your batter comes together. I threw out nearly half a cup of mixture. These produced big, beautiful, fluffy, tender, gorgeous scones!! I topped mine with a cinnamon glaze. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made this for my sister's bridal shower party and it was a huge hit! Everyone loved it. I added dried currants to mine and brushed the top of the scone with some half and half cream and some white sugar before baking. It was delightful! I also reduced the amount of sugar used by 1/4 since the crowd didn't have a huge sweet tooth. The recipe still turned out great. I'll definitely be using this recipe again moving forward!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by euuz
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
For me it went great. Lovely scones, maybe they would be better if you add some flavor like lemon, orange, chocolate, nuts or vanilla or so. But cool recipe, thanks! Just one small issue the servings turned out like a lot, it says for 12 and i came up with like 30 at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
These were great! I have to admit, it did not go well the first time I tried... Blame it on the otherwise brilliant recipe which isn't quite clear enough if you ask me. No need to add the whole milk/egg mix, you just need to add some until the dough is right (moist). If you add it all (like I did at first), you're just going to end up with a very buttery muffin batter... Once you get that, you are good for cream tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
The recipe was good but a few suggestions. After you cut in the butter, slowly mix the egg/milk mixture just a little at a time. You also do not want to roll out the dough too thin. In my gas oven, I need to roll it to more than half an inch thickness. If I don't, the bottoms get burnt and the edges will be hard as a rock. I also brush on some butter to the top of the scone for a more browned and buttery top. For being a simple scone recipe, these were fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJ Gallimore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Wow never made scones before and they have turned out beautifully. Will definitely use recipe again and share with friends. Used single cream instead of milk and the only hint I would give is to mix the liquid slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Everyone loves this recipe. Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States