Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Love this recipe! My family adores them. I split the dough before kneading and work in mini chocolate chips for the kids, cranberries and chopped candied ginger for the adults. I cut the butter into small cubes and freeze for a few minutes. Then work in with my fingers, just like I do for pie crust and biscuits. Its much quicker than cutting in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Great recipe, I've had it for years. I printed it out in early 2000's & have received numerous compliments. Thank you Donna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
These had a great flavour but they were definitely NOT scones. They were way too soft and came out as fluffy as a biscuit, which would be wonderful if that is what you were looking to make. Scones should be much harder and denser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrync

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
LOVE it. Defiantly make this. It is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Very, very tasty and easy. I noticed butter pooling in the baking sheet when I took them out, so I'd cut down next time I make them. Protip. Make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Just finished making my own batch of these. I made mine with less flour and took off a little of each ingredient, because I used a mini cupcake pan to make mine. You can also try adding some lemon juice and poppy seeds, it turned out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Just easy and amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
The first time I made them they were awesome! Just now, the second time, I tried to substitute butter for Apple sauce and the dough went extremely sticky. To counter act, I added flour until it was "handleable" as I didn't know what else to do. Still delicious, but waaaay heavier. May use a different recipe with applesauce next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela McGee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Really great as drop-scones. Added about 2 tbs extra milk to get a nice soft dough. Added diced candied ginger as a little extra sweetness to combat the fairly high baking soda content. Turned out light and airy and completely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as is except I added some cinnamon to the mix and cinnamon sugar on top. They were amazing! I made them for a baby shower and everyone loved them. So much so that the mommy to be woke up a few mornings later craving my scones! I made a faux clotted cream and raspberry preserve to go along with them... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States