Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made these scones for the first time today WOW! I have to say Jillian thx for the idea of grating the butter in that is the best tip I think I've heard in eons! I made cinnamon and raisin scones yummy! I also used all half and half.... I have noticed in other recipes that where I used 1/2,1/2 instead of milk that breads where light and fluffy same here! Try it in corn bread! One other step I did was an egg wash just before baking to give it that really nice brown look. I am now hooked! Thank you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I have now made these twice. The first time I followed the recipe using the suggestions of cinnamon and the food processor method of pulsing 1/2 the flour mixture with 1/2 butter and repeating. I also heeded the advice to add the liquid some at a time, and more as needed. The second time I made these I got creative and healthy and they still turned out amazing; I liked them better. I used a flour mix of 1 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour + 1/2 c. finely ground oats + 1 c. all purpose flour. I used a stick of butter and for the extra 1/4 cup used coconut oil (the solid stuff from a jar). Instead of using any egg at all I used chia paste, a great egg substitute, made by mixing chia seeds and water in a jar and shaking until the seeds float suspended in their gel. (The ratio is something like 1 T chia seeds per cup of water, but you can decide on what you think is the eggiest consistency.) This time I happened to have heavy cream, so I used that plus some 1% milk. I added cinnamon and chopped dried apricots. I made the dough and cut it in the evening, refrigerated it and cooked up yummy scones for breakfast. (I had to add a minute or two to the cooking time for cold dough.) The scones were toasty brown, really moist and flaky and a little too addictive--but at least a little healthier...I will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna Nugent
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This was the best recipe I have found. Amazingly light. I added 1 Tbspn Lemon Flavoring. Very very pleased. Family loved it, too. Thank you...this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I like how simple this recipe is. First time i did this, it was like a very thick batter consistency. It tasted really good but looked like bread lumps. I just made a batch today and used 3/4 cup egg+milk. Threw in some dried cranberries and walnuts. Now it's a coffee shop-worthy batch of scones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cainta, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Wonderful....added raisins to some, dried cranberries to others....brushed tops with milk and sprinkled decorator sugar...looked awesome, tasted GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulubretired

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I've been using a different scone recipe on this site, but several weeks ago I decided to try this one.. I've made this about 5 times now! One batch I added in cheddar and bacon..yummmm! This is my now go to recipe, as is, and as a base to add in. Only thing I suggest, is for a savory scone such as the cheddar and bacon, is to decrease the sugar a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Busy_mom
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
These were amazing! I loved how light and fluffy they were. I added orange zest, cranberries, and dark chocolate chunks. Like other users, I mixed the egg and milk together,and slowly poured them into the dry ingredients until just moistened . I will be using this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Best scone recipe I have ever tried. Not too sweet, but not dry and just the right amount of fluff! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I added some mini chocolate chips and 2 tsp coco powder kids and hubby loved'em!! Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Never made these before. Followed the recipe exact and it came out so good. I like it because it's not sweet. I guess I would cut down on the butter somewhat next time. They bake up real fast so you have to watch that they don't burn....mine were done in about 10 minutes. Used the food processer to cut the butter into the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States