Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by AURA5195
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
These were great! Very scone-like and just the perfect touch of sweetness. I followed the recipe exactly except that I pulled them out a couple minutes earlier than called for as mine were a little thinner. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was the first time I made scones. I shredded the butter by cheese grater to mix in dough, and reduced the sugar using only brown sugar. I split the dough and made half with about 1/2 cup golden raisins and chopped pecans, then sprinkled with chopped pecans. The other half i added about 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, couple tablespoons of chives, and couple tablespoons of bacon. Delicious! The husband and son ate all the pecan ones, the cheddar chive bacon need more tweaking. We will make these again! Great recipe, easy to follow and I had all the ingredients in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Abrain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
AWESOME! I used Half and half though and also only added the milk/egg mixture until it formed a cookie like dough. Very easy to roll out! I made these for "hands around the world" or "World Thinking day" A Girl scout event celebrating countries. Our troop did England and we made them! most of the kids liked them but all of the adults raved about how good they were and even came back for seconds! yummy! I will say though that I think the key is only adding enough liquid that it makes the dough wet and looks like cookie dough. Glad I read that from other reviews first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
They really are delish and exactly like british scones. - We did cheat and add an extra 1/4 c of butter & 1 tsp of vanilla. We cut the dough in small rounds with a cookie cutter and froze them. We brushed the tops with 1/2 & 1/2 and sprinkled with sugar and baked them frozen. Our girlscout troop just made these for World Thinking Day and added chocolate chunks and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe! I used the exact ingredients along with cinnamon and vanilla extract. They taste amazing! The recipe called for eight but they looked huge when I cut them into wedges, so I made them a but smaller and got a dozen scones; they are still huge! I will be making more of these in a wider variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe! I only needed a few so took advantage of the custom feature and made 4- Totally made this in the food processor and just gathered and rolled and made 4 scones for breakfast-I added a handful of golden raisins to the dough and baked as directed-Perfect scones and much cheaper than eating out-I did cheat and had clotted cream and jam but extremely satisfying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Analiese Fammler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I halved the recipe - perfect 8 scones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Yummy! I halved the recipe(only 2 people this evening), mixed the egg (egg substitute actually) & milk together as suggested by others. The dough is a little on the "wet" side, just like my other scone recipes. Just flour your board, turn out the dough, dust a little flour over & gently fold it in on itself & knead maybe 4 times. It can then easily be rolled into a round & cut. Making a 1/2 batch I did 2 rounds cut into 6 wedges each - one plain & the other with orange zest. Coarse sugar was sprinkled over them all & baked for about 13 min. They were a perfect size, delicious - no odd tastes. We had ours w/ clotted cream & jam. Will make again w/ other flavor additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Best scones EVER! Don't purchase from Starbucks! Make these instead. Used the food processor to make the orange-cranberry recipe suggested and accidentally omitted the butter. Still super awesome. Dough was a little sticky but lightly dusted with flour to roll, then smash into a rectangle and then cut triangular scones by first dividing the rectangle into equal quarters. Baked at 400 for 17 minutes and came out perfect. Nom nom nom nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Raine Buhl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Great base recipe - I added candied Ginger and toasted Pecans - then coated with a ginger glaze - what a sweet (but not too) treat. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casa De Kitty Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carriere, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States