Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nanny Snowflake
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Delicious recipe! I made NO changes when I made this, and they had a wonderful flavor. They are very moist and rise beautifully. Be sure not to overknead the dough. Besides becoming very brown on the bottom (which is very likely due to my pan), I definitely plan on making them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is a fabulous scone recipe! It makes me laugh a little that some reviews are disappointed at how plain these scones are. This is a really nice, traditional scone recipe. I find they are great with raspberry jam, or lemon curd... There is so much butter in the recipe, I haven't felt the need to add any more. I will have to try them with clotted cream one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These are delicious. I have made this at least 15 times and they are always delicious. I took another reviewers hint and instead of the whole cup of milk do 1/2 cup OJ and 1/3 cup milk. Also I have to make sure you follow the directions exactly and old add the liquid until the flour mix is moist. I also add some craisins. I split the dough in half before I cut into 8 wedges (so it makes 16). That is just a personal preference as they seemed a little too big before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Definitely put your egg in the measuring cup & top up with milk or cream to 1cup. 1cup plus the egg is too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Loved it. I added cinnamon, vanilla and dates. I topped them with honey butter when they came out of the oven. Family loved them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane McCreight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I live somewhere very dry and hot. That means that pretty much anything baked becomes really dry, really quickly. I watched the video on how to make these scones and did exactly as the video said. The scones turned out FANTASTIC. The only difference was that I had to bake them for an additional 6 minutes because I baked them on a pizza stone (this helps to evenly distribute the heat, so that the bottoms are as golden brown as the tops!) I will definitely return to this recipe, and maybe add some chocolate chips next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari Vacca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IttyBritty
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Didn't have all purpose flour so i mixed bread flour with wheat flour and had great texture and fluffiness. I left out the salt so it could be more dessert-like. Also, I wasnt able to roll out my dough! For some reason it was wayyy too sticky and loose.. So I just spooned it into muffin pans and filled the dough with strawberry jam. They came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made these scones for the first time today WOW! I have to say Jillian thx for the idea of grating the butter in that is the best tip I think I've heard in eons! I made cinnamon and raisin scones yummy! I also used all half and half.... I have noticed in other recipes that where I used 1/2,1/2 instead of milk that breads where light and fluffy same here! Try it in corn bread! One other step I did was an egg wash just before baking to give it that really nice brown look. I am now hooked! Thank you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I have now made these twice. The first time I followed the recipe using the suggestions of cinnamon and the food processor method of pulsing 1/2 the flour mixture with 1/2 butter and repeating. I also heeded the advice to add the liquid some at a time, and more as needed. The second time I made these I got creative and healthy and they still turned out amazing; I liked them better. I used a flour mix of 1 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour + 1/2 c. finely ground oats + 1 c. all purpose flour. I used a stick of butter and for the extra 1/4 cup used coconut oil (the solid stuff from a jar). Instead of using any egg at all I used chia paste, a great egg substitute, made by mixing chia seeds and water in a jar and shaking until the seeds float suspended in their gel. (The ratio is something like 1 T chia seeds per cup of water, but you can decide on what you think is the eggiest consistency.) This time I happened to have heavy cream, so I used that plus some 1% milk. I added cinnamon and chopped dried apricots. I made the dough and cut it in the evening, refrigerated it and cooked up yummy scones for breakfast. (I had to add a minute or two to the cooking time for cold dough.) The scones were toasty brown, really moist and flaky and a little too addictive--but at least a little healthier...I will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna Nugent
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This was the best recipe I have found. Amazingly light. I added 1 Tbspn Lemon Flavoring. Very very pleased. Family loved it, too. Thank you...this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States