Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
it didnt get to the consistency i wanted until i added more flour but overall a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
In the end I think I added a bit more sugar with some cinnamon in it, and mix in some dried cranberries. It's not like me to eat desserts, so I served it to my family and they seemed to like it very much! So glad I could find a BASIC and EASY recipes for scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Great recipe! I used 1 tbs of baking powder and added milk as needed (probably used a little more than 3/4 cup). Instead of rolling and cutting the dough, I used a large ice cream scoop and scooped them right onto a cookie sheet. They came out great! I added chocolate chips this time, can't wait to try them again with something different. The possibilities are endless...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatrinaAlice
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I'm giving this 5 stars because its a great base recipe, and that's what makes it great, people can be creative with it. Since I've never made scones before I tested this out with just half the recipe. It made 10 big scones, I don't know how the full recipe could only make 8. I subbed 1/3 the flour with wheat & the milk with soy milk. I didn't bother rolling out the dough, I just grabbed handfuls and dropped them on my pan. I also added cut strawberries & a handful of chocolate chips. My scones turned out amazing, though they needed18-20 minutes to cook. Next time I'm going to try using apple sauce instead of butter to cut down on calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I found that this recipe had a little too much baking powder, so I took it down to 4 teaspoons of baking power. I also added dried cranberries for a tasty twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I thought these were really good. However I made the following changes that made these DEE-LISH!! - I used a biscuit cutter and cut them out rather than cutting into wedges (made 26 biscuits) - I topped them off with brown sugar before they went in the oven (so both the top and the bottom of the scone has a crunchy texture) - Baked for only 12-13 minutes - Cut them in half and put a strawberry rhubarb jam onto both sides = DEE-LISH, a must try!! Don't forget the cup of tea on the side!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandanicolexx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I never knew that scones were so easy to make! I divided dough in half and made chocolate chip and blueberry scones. The recipe made 16 scones for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Pearce Hochstein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by Tarabarra
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Easy quick recipe that turns out tasting delicious. I used about half of my milk/cream/egg mix and added blueberries. I brushed my scones with butter to gloden and found some great vanilla flavored cane sugar i garnished my scones with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarabarra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Crumbly, but super tasty. These are great eaten plain!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Great scones. Tasted very close to the ones I had in Ireland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States