Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Amazing! Moist, sweet and extremely easy to make! I also made a few changes: 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1/2 cup and instead of using a rolling pin, I rolled them with my hands into small flat balls and baked them (Since I could not find my rolling pin!) Still they turned out excellent! The best recipe for scones that I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I was asked to make 8 dozen scones for a High School football team. This recipe was the best basic recipe we found! I made Lemon/Poppyseed, Vanilla/Almond, Blueberry/White Chocolate, Chocolate Chip and Orange/Cranberry with this recipe. It was a huge hit. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Mitchell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grizzly Flats, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
So yummy! These make up perfect! I was accused of buying them :) The recipe has been shared multiple times by request. Best (&easy) scone recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Excellent basic recipe. I changed it in the following way: less sugar, flour and flax seed flour, milk and orange juice, a bit of baking soda with a bit of lemon jest, vanilla and rhum extract, cranberries, raisins, pumpkin seeds, and hazelnuts. The result is divine!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
these scones tastes powerfully like baking soda. Very fluffy,and cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I used alternative flour (rice w/guar gum and tapioca mix), xylitol instead of sugar and almond milk instead of dairy. They turned out great -except that I can really taste the baking powder...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by emilyjcole
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Delicious! I followed tips in other reviews and they turned out perfectly. I intended to make these with blueberries and vanilla extract but accidentally used lemon extract instead -- it was definitely a happy accident! They were fantastic! I used frozen blueberries and only let them thaw at room temperature for about 10 minutes, then folded them into the mixture. That way, they remain whole and don't turn the entire batter blue and explode while baking. I made a simple sugar glaze (confectioner's sugar, vanilla extract & milk) & drizzled on top, but they really didn't need it. Will definitely bookmark this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
AWESOME SHORTCAKES!!! I made these, exactly as described, except I didn't roll the dough. I dropped 12 mounds on a cookie sheet and baked as directed. These were excellent strawberry and peach shortcakes - the best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I have been using this as my customized scone base recipe for years and just love it!!! The scones are very moist, not dry like a traditional European scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
So simple with ingredients that I already had! I added about a cup of frozen blueberries and frozen strawberries, which made them take about 10 minutes longer, but made them so moist and delicious! I reduced the butter to 1/2 a cup without a problem. They are also huge scones, with all that baking powder, and very fluffy. Definitely will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States