Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. I've tried it twice, so far. Once with 2 tsps of cinnamon and a second time as is. I followed the advice of other reviews and included the egg into the 1 cup of milk. Both versions were delicious. I am looking forward to adding to this recipe, it seems very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkySheppard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Enica
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Excellent! My boys and I were making scones for the first time and we keep coming back with customization. These are our Milk and White Chocolate Vanilla Scones based on your recipe. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Simple and delicious! I'm going to try adding some dried fruit next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StillSwirling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I never made a scone in my life (in fact I don't do all that much baking beyond cookies and an occasional cake). We had just returned from a trip to Ireland and scones were on the breakfast menu everywhere we went. When we got home my wife was lamenting that she missed the scones so I thought I would give it a whirl. The dough is sticky and tough to work with and I thought I screwed up the recipe, but man these were as good as any we had across the pond! Thanks for sharing. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdirondackKid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
i have this exact recipe my friend gave to me and i found it to be dry..so i have been looking up other scones to see if i can add anything diffrant and the next time im gonna try the one with sour cream i hope its not as dry this is very good just a lil dry for my tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was an easy conversion to gluten and lactose free by substituting GF baking mix 1:1 for the wheat flour, almond milk for the milk, and substituting ghee for the butter. This came out really well with adding 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, dried blueberries and mini-chocolate chips. This recipe was so flexible! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
they're great but had to cut down on the baking powder made them to bitter only added 3 instead of the 5 the recipe said and they turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Fabulous! Used almost all the milk/egg mixture and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I gave this recipe 5 stars because I changed NOTHING! I've actually been making this very recipe for years and it really is perfect. It comes out the same way every time, which is good because I make them for my Mom every time she visits and I have to make extra to send them home with her. The only complaint I have is that once you eat them... They're gone ;) A long over due thanks to you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 660) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States