Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is a fabulous scone recipe! It makes me laugh a little that some reviews are disappointed at how plain these scones are. This is a really nice, traditional scone recipe. I find they are great with raspberry jam, or lemon curd... There is so much butter in the recipe, I haven't felt the need to add any more. I will have to try them with clotted cream one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These are delicious. I have made this at least 15 times and they are always delicious. I took another reviewers hint and instead of the whole cup of milk do 1/2 cup OJ and 1/3 cup milk. Also I have to make sure you follow the directions exactly and old add the liquid until the flour mix is moist. I also add some craisins. I split the dough in half before I cut into 8 wedges (so it makes 16). That is just a personal preference as they seemed a little too big before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Definitely put your egg in the measuring cup & top up with milk or cream to 1cup. 1cup plus the egg is too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Loved it. I added cinnamon, vanilla and dates. I topped them with honey butter when they came out of the oven. Family loved them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane McCreight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I live somewhere very dry and hot. That means that pretty much anything baked becomes really dry, really quickly. I watched the video on how to make these scones and did exactly as the video said. The scones turned out FANTASTIC. The only difference was that I had to bake them for an additional 6 minutes because I baked them on a pizza stone (this helps to evenly distribute the heat, so that the bottoms are as golden brown as the tops!) I will definitely return to this recipe, and maybe add some chocolate chips next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari Vacca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IttyBritty
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Didn't have all purpose flour so i mixed bread flour with wheat flour and had great texture and fluffiness. I left out the salt so it could be more dessert-like. Also, I wasnt able to roll out my dough! For some reason it was wayyy too sticky and loose.. So I just spooned it into muffin pans and filled the dough with strawberry jam. They came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made these scones for the first time today WOW! I have to say Jillian thx for the idea of grating the butter in that is the best tip I think I've heard in eons! I made cinnamon and raisin scones yummy! I also used all half and half.... I have noticed in other recipes that where I used 1/2,1/2 instead of milk that breads where light and fluffy same here! Try it in corn bread! One other step I did was an egg wash just before baking to give it that really nice brown look. I am now hooked! Thank you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I have now made these twice. The first time I followed the recipe using the suggestions of cinnamon and the food processor method of pulsing 1/2 the flour mixture with 1/2 butter and repeating. I also heeded the advice to add the liquid some at a time, and more as needed. The second time I made these I got creative and healthy and they still turned out amazing; I liked them better. I used a flour mix of 1 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour + 1/2 c. finely ground oats + 1 c. all purpose flour. I used a stick of butter and for the extra 1/4 cup used coconut oil (the solid stuff from a jar). Instead of using any egg at all I used chia paste, a great egg substitute, made by mixing chia seeds and water in a jar and shaking until the seeds float suspended in their gel. (The ratio is something like 1 T chia seeds per cup of water, but you can decide on what you think is the eggiest consistency.) This time I happened to have heavy cream, so I used that plus some 1% milk. I added cinnamon and chopped dried apricots. I made the dough and cut it in the evening, refrigerated it and cooked up yummy scones for breakfast. (I had to add a minute or two to the cooking time for cold dough.) The scones were toasty brown, really moist and flaky and a little too addictive--but at least a little healthier...I will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna Nugent
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This was the best recipe I have found. Amazingly light. I added 1 Tbspn Lemon Flavoring. Very very pleased. Family loved it, too. Thank you...this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I like how simple this recipe is. First time i did this, it was like a very thick batter consistency. It tasted really good but looked like bread lumps. I just made a batch today and used 3/4 cup egg+milk. Threw in some dried cranberries and walnuts. Now it's a coffee shop-worthy batch of scones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cainta, Rizal, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States