Schweinshaxe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I made this for the first time tonight. Wonderful! I didn't have leeks, but it didn't seem to make a difference. The meat was a little dry. I strained the extra liquid, and reduced it for about 15 mins. It made a great dipping sauce. Served with oven roasted Klondike potatoes and onions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this for Christmas dinner for my fiance, at his request. I was wary since I'd never done anything like this before, but it worked out pretty well. My one problem was that all of the liquid burned away before the meat was finished roasting, so watch it carefully and add more cooking liquid if needed. My fiance thought it tasted like what he had eaten in the Czech Republic (although our pork knuckles here are apparently much smaller). I have to say that I wasn't a fan of the pork knuckle itself, but if it's a type of protein you like and eat, then this is a good recipe for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Quite good. the pork hocks came out very tender and the gravy in the pan was perfectly flavoured. the beer is unnecessary as i substituted water with a teaspoon of salt dissolved to sprinkle it with and it turned out fine. i just might suggest as well to add the veggies maybe during the last 1/2 hour or so of boiling since they came out too mushy by the time it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Good recipe, but I'd like to suggest making it more authentic by grilling the Hax'n, instead of braising it in a pot. At the Oktoberfest and other large festivals, and in most Gasthäuser in Bayern, you’ll find gegrillte Schweinshax’n on the menu. Grilling the hocks is what makes the skin so crispy (like pork rinds). And you want to make sure they’re fresh, not smoked or cured. I’d also recommend, instead of white wine, which no real Bayer would have with his Hax’n, a good Märzenbier or a Doppelbock. Serve with a Semmelknödel and some Blaukraut, and you’ll have an authentic bairisches Schmankerl. Prost! Brad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the Baron
Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
very tasty and easy to prepare; this is like what my mother used to make at home; when I was in Germany (Stutgart) I had schweinshaxe that were the very best - the skin was roasted more than this recipe & I will try to get there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I grew up eating this and used to sneak feed it to our dachshund; nicknamed "Schweinhund". Altho it's still not my favorite thing in the world, I knew that my Scottish hubby would love it as he adores German and Austrian food. I'm happy to say that I wasn't wrong and he gobbled it up. Thanks so much Matti!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
Found this recipe VERY good, reminds me of when I ate it at the real Hofbrauhaus! The way to pronounce it is Shhh-vine-shacks-uh. Basically means swine shanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I made this for dinner tonight and my husband absolutely LOVED! I used one 2 lb boneless pork knuckle and followed the rest of the recipe as written (well, except I didn't have any leeks...) Thanks so much for sharing. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shamokin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fiume Veneto, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This is probably much easier to prepare and eat, than it is to pronounce! I didn't find pig knuckles, by name, so I used the more easily found meaty hocks. Are they the same? To me, cumin does not seem particularly German and a pinch wouldn't add too much flavor, would it? BTW, just how do you pronounce the name?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States