Schweinebraten Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Awesome! I couldn't find a boneless pork roast at the store so I used a 5 chop bone in roast. The roast and the gravy I made from the pan drippings was fantastic. Both my boyfriend and my guy roomate cleaned their plates. When there aren't any leftovers, you know you cooked something good. Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
this recipe was fantastic! i made it in the slow cooker and used woodchuck which is a hard cider. i've never felt the need to review a recipe before, but i feel that this deserves all five stars. it was the most tender, juicy and flavorful pork roast i've ever cooked. we didnt have any leftovers in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Great base recipe! I used my dutch oven and Heinekin light beer. The house smelled great and the roast was so tender! The only thing that I would do differently next time is double the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meplus3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Never really knew what to do with a pork roast. So glad I found this recipe first in my search. Fantastic!!! Altered slightly using Bud Lite Lime (no regular lite beer in the house). Husband and stepdaughter raved---delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Fabulous/5 Star/Easy!!! The house smelled out of this world when it was cooking. I followed recipe exactly except that I had a 3lb roast and I used the full amount of seasoning for a 5lb roast. Would do that again. Served it with Suzy's Mashed Red Potatoes (from this site), corn on the cob and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Just fabulous! I had a slightly larger roast so I doubled the rub mixture... but kept it the same otherwise. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANDT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva On The Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Excellent! Did end up adding more liquid about 1/2 way thru. (bud lite w/lime) Nice and moist and made a flavorful gravy. Added 2 cups chicken broth and thickend with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ketchme71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I am a fairly new cook. . my fiance said he wanted a pork roast for dinner when we were trying to decide on what to eat. I had never made one before and I found this recipe! This recipe was GREAT! My fiance LOVED it. Alongside the roast I made mashed potatoes, pork gravy (just the package kind) and creamed sweet corn! The combination of the 3 was tasty! Where I live good meats are hard to come by so I only had about a 2.5 lb roast. . .which was great for just 2 people. Even though the roast was smaller I still used to same amount of all other ingredients! I added garlic cloves to the roasting pan with the onions, and I added garlic powder and onion powder to the rub! Miller Lite beer is the only way to go in my family so naturally I used that. The great part. . I have leftovers for dinner tonight! BBQ Pork sandwiches it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
WOW. How simple and delicious. One major problem with the recipes though... you forgot to mention what a delicious gravy the drippings make! I will say I doubled the amount of rub I used, but this could be a personal preference thing (but other might want to try it). I'm also curious about trying apple cider instead of beer. Might be good, and make for an interesting gravy. One thing... it took forever to bake and I had to add a little more beer... but I think I my have done something wrong. Not sure what happened there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I often use beer when roasting a turkey so I knew this would be spot on with pork. I used a twelve pound bone in fresh ham that had a nice layer of fat on top so there were no worries about it being dry or having to turn it during cooking. The beer added a wonderful flavor to the drippings that resulted in one amazing gravy. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States