Schweinebraten Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by cianne
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was very aromatic and good flavor. I add carrots and potato in at the last hour of cooking as I like as few cooking pots to clean up as possible. When I next make this, and I will, I will add double the onions as they pick up so much of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Oops! I doubled the spices because I thought that would be a good idea, but then realized my roast was half the size the recipe called for - so I had quadrupled! My husband enjoyed it, but I thought it was a bit over-spiced, but still edible. A wonderfully easy thing to throw together while working at home. I put it in the slow cooker on low, made it a theme dinner with the German red cabbage and gingerbread pear upside down cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maguffin42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
LOVE LOVE using the oven for a slow cooker! I had a jar of rib rub, so I sprinkled it on the pork roast. I threw in 2 heads of garlic and a tablespoon of peppercorns. 3 beers from the fridge went into the hot tub. Turned the oven to 300 degrees, covered with foil and went to work. DD called a couple hours later and said the roast smelled Amazing!! Told her to turn it off and hubby thought this totally Yummy!! Thanks so much Chasing Storms!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Excellent recipe for kitchen screw-ups (such as myself). Simple to make. Excellent recipe for meat-loving family. I used Woodpecker Hard Cider, the meat was perfect (kitchen screw-ups, it doesn't make the meat sweet, but if you make the gravy, that hints at sweet.) I made with Sunday Dinner Mashed Potatoes & the Broccoli & Cauliflower Casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bay Shore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Made this in my slow cooker and was VERY impressed. Had to substitute basil for marjoram because it was what was in the cabinet Meat was tender and tasty. Gravy made it to die for! My 4 and 6 year old ate it well, as did my husband! The fact that it took a total of about 5 minutes to put together made it a win-win. Will definitely make this again and again! Oh, and I used full flavor beer, Hofbrau Octoberfest, because again, it was what we had. The gravy had a fair bit of beer flavor, but the pork wasn't too much, hubby said maybe we should have marinated it in the beer first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy, P&C Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is delicious! I made it as written, except I used a 2.5lb roast instead of a 5lb roast. I kept all the amounts the same though. It was perfect. I also made it in the stock pot (like a slow cooker recipe) instead of in the oven. It cooked about 4 hours and was perfect and delicious when it was done. I would give this more stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made this for my family the other day and we all absolutely devoured it!EVEN MY SOMEWHAT PICKY KIDS! This recipe is so easy and we love it.I followed the recipe given and will be making this at least once a week. Thanks for sharing the yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
After reading the most helpful reviews, I used a 2# pork sirloin roast and put Warsteiner beer with the roast. It is just for me & my husband. I used the exact amount of seasonings, only reducing the salt to 1 tsp. & I added 1/3 cup of some homemade apple butter to the beer before placing in a crock pot. I cooked on high starting around 11 am and it was falling apart within 4 hours in the crock pot. I served with maggi (authentic German dumplings) spaetzle, Gundelsheim (Original German Recipe) Barrel Red Cabbage, homemade mashed potatoes and Trappey's jalapeno Black Eye peas with some additional seasonings for New Year's day. My husband made the Beer Bread 1 to go with this. Will update you on the finished product. Update: Heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
8-25-11: Pretty good taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Everyone loved this. It was so tender and I used Sapporo Japanese beer. I have made my corned beef with Guiness beer and every time I use beer the roast is amazing. We all loved it so much there were no left overs. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States