Schwarma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Wow awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Schwarma Haiku: "This was a neat meal. Fun to decorate pita! Subtle marinade." Wish that I'd been able to marinate overnight (it was more like 6 hrs. for mine) and I also wish that I had a proper broiler pan (improvised w/ foil.) The one thing that was beyond difficult was flipping the chicken half-way thru the 5 min. broil when it was "thinly-sliced" - maybe I shouldn't have cut SO many thinly-sliced slices, but I just couldn't flip them all, and ended up getting more frustrated (and all of us ready to chow down!) than anything else. But as far as taste and presentation goes, it was really fun to stuff the pitas w/ the cucumber, onion, tomatoes and chicken, and drizzle in Ranch. I think I'd like to try the marinade on just chicken breast next time, and put on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
we absolutely loved this.. i didn't even use sauces on the pita sandwiches.. just threw in the chicken, lettuce and tomato.. doubled the hot sauce.. used an extra garlic clove, almost doubled the lemon juice, used ground mustard in place of mace.. grilled these on the bbq.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wavy437

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I absolutely love this. I've had it with nothing but ranch dressing and then with all the toppings and it is just as good either way. Be sure to warm up the pita bread though, that's when it tastes especially good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I totally had these for the first time when I deployed to Saudi Arabia. Can wait to make them for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Even better than anticipated. I used nutmeg instead of mace and nonfat yogurt works well. I also didn't have Pita bread so I used whole wheat soft taco size tortilla. Very Good. Thanks for the healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
great taste! I made my own pitas and made more of the "marinade" and used that for my base. Stuffed with lettuce on top and a drizzle of ranch. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These were really great. A tip for slicing the meat really thin: Freeze it first for at least 30 minutes. Makes it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westford, Vermont, USA
Photo by 3BadBoxers
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
It does have a strange smell while preparing, most foreign foods do. But if prepared properly, this is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Authentic Chicken Tikka Masala

Discover an authentic taste of India.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States