Schwabischer Kartoffelsalat (Schwabish Potato salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This is a really good recipe. Not to argue too much with PickyCook (and I do appreciate the feedback), but you REALLY have to watch the mayonnaise. 2 teaspoons is really the absolute most you should put in it. A dab is better. Also, something else I've noticed - make SURE you use a good quality olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Since that's the only flavoring, you'll notice the quality. And lastly - it's good to make a day or two in advance. The flavors get more depth as the salad "ages". I made a batch the night before for a cookout, and it was good, but then I ate some left overs the day *after* the cookout and it was just a lot better. Anyway, I think I may add bacon next time. I hope other people try this and offer feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I am from Schwabenland in Germany and grew up on this potato salad. In this potato salad there is no mayonnaise or eggs in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
following the directions exactly, i found this recipe to be bland, unattractive and had a very "mayonnaisey" taste to it, even though you didn't use much mayonnaise. maybe add scallions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I did as Arkali suggested. I enjoyed it. Yes I did add bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Hoffman Oley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was awful! I followed the recipe exactly. The balsamic vinegar makes it turn a brownish color and the end product does not look very appetizing. I was very disappointed. Now that I wasted my time making this today, I now have buy some store made potato salad to take to my potluck event today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Growing up, I had this at all family gatherings. A perfect thing they made a barques and other events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Very good. I omitted the mayo, and add more egg and a few dill pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. It is very different from the "normal" potato salad. The first time I made this, we tried it warm (i'm so impatient!) My husband liked it best warm. But I thought it was better the next day at room temp. My favorite thing about this recipe is not worrying about keeping it chilled during a cookout or picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
The flavors didn't blend well, family wouldn't eat it. It sat in the fridge and went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is just like they make it in Swabish Gumund! Such a treat. I had lost my recipe and was pleasantly surprised to find this one. Be sure to use white balsamic vinegar so you don't discolor your beautiful potatoes. Leave out the mayonnaise. I prefer salt in my food, so add it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States