Schwabischer Kartoffelsalat (Schwabish Potato salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Very good. I omitted the mayo, and add more egg and a few dill pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is just like they make it in Swabish Gumund! Such a treat. I had lost my recipe and was pleasantly surprised to find this one. Be sure to use white balsamic vinegar so you don't discolor your beautiful potatoes. Leave out the mayonnaise. I prefer salt in my food, so add it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. It is very different from the "normal" potato salad. The first time I made this, we tried it warm (i'm so impatient!) My husband liked it best warm. But I thought it was better the next day at room temp. My favorite thing about this recipe is not worrying about keeping it chilled during a cookout or picnic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Growing up, I had this at all family gatherings. A perfect thing they made a barques and other events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I am from Schwabenland in Germany and grew up on this potato salad. In this potato salad there is no mayonnaise or eggs in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This was awful! I followed the recipe exactly. The balsamic vinegar makes it turn a brownish color and the end product does not look very appetizing. I was very disappointed. Now that I wasted my time making this today, I now have buy some store made potato salad to take to my potluck event today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I did as Arkali suggested. I enjoyed it. Yes I did add bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
The flavors didn't blend well, family wouldn't eat it. It sat in the fridge and went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This is a really good recipe. Not to argue too much with PickyCook (and I do appreciate the feedback), but you REALLY have to watch the mayonnaise. 2 teaspoons is really the absolute most you should put in it. A dab is better. Also, something else I've noticed - make SURE you use a good quality olive oil and balsamic vinegar. Since that's the only flavoring, you'll notice the quality. And lastly - it's good to make a day or two in advance. The flavors get more depth as the salad "ages". I made a batch the night before for a cookout, and it was good, but then I ate some left overs the day *after* the cookout and it was just a lot better. Anyway, I think I may add bacon next time. I hope other people try this and offer feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Calhoun, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
following the directions exactly, i found this recipe to be bland, unattractive and had a very "mayonnaisey" taste to it, even though you didn't use much mayonnaise. maybe add scallions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States