School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
For me, this dough was a dream to work with and it yielded fantastic results. I halved the recipe and made 25 rolls of different sizes. I wanted some as dinner rolls and others as hamburger buns. I let the Kitchen Aid mix dough hook to do the work for me. What most impressed me about the rolls was how 3-4 days later the rolls were still extremely soft and fresh tasting. So many recipes I have tried are great the day I make the rolls, but the following day or two it is oblivious that they weren't made that day. For that reason alone, this a definite keeper for me and a recipe I will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
They rose just fine and looked great, but tasted VERY bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laceyworks
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I scaled it down to 12 servings BUT once I had it mixed up I cut the ball of dough in half and made 6 dinner rolls and 8 cinnamon rolls! Best of both worlds! They were so amazing! I did the math myself because I forgot about the "change the serving" button. So my measurements were a little different, and laughable at the way I went about it, but they turned out A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! 3/4 c water, 1/2 tbsp + 1/4 tsp + 1/8 tsp yeast, 3/4 tsp sugar, 1 tbsp butter, 1 tbsp milk, 1/2 egg, 3/4 tsp + pinch salt, 2.5c flour, 2.5 tbsp + 1/2 tsp sugar, 1 tbsp shortening. I did end up mixing the butter in with the milk in the beginning, oops! I made the dough up and went through the first rise, punched down and kneaded for 2 more minutes. I did use my kitchen aid. Then I halved the dough and formed 6 balls of dough with one half and followed the recipes directions for second rise and baking. With the other half I rolled into a 6x11 rectangle (approx size) and then I smeared 2-3 tbsp softened butter, generously sprinkled with cinnamon, and 2 tbsp sugar. Rolled the short 6" end to the other short end. Cut with floss into 8 even pieces. For cinnamon rolls I preheated oven to 170 and turned off oven, then let rolls sit in oven for 30 minutes covered, took them out & set on top and preheated oven to 400. Then baked for 13-15 minutes. Frosted with 2 tbsp melted butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tbsp milk, 1 c powdered sugar. The cinnamon rolls were fantastic re-heated in microwave for 15-20 seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Very good recipe. I have made it substituting the sugar for honey. Very tasty. I have made these for company and got nothing but raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Made these to take for a dinner party at my sister's. Everyone raved about how fluffy and light they were. I did add a bit more salt from the first time I made them and it did give them a pop to the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Really nice rolls! Made the full batch and froze half for another meal. Next time I will brush with melted butter and not knead in. Very light and soft rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I loved it I big success with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Absolutely Delicious!! Made these for both family Christmas' this year and they got devoured! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this recipe the afternoon/evening prior to Thanksgiving dinner. Ten cups of flour should tip you off that you need extra baking pans. Anyway, not a difficult recipe but you will need to bake the rolls in a couple of batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
The rolls are fabulous! I individually froze them after making balls. Then follow the recipe when you remove some from the freezer. They turned out as well as the fresh baked ones. I've made them a couple of times now. They are just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States