School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by kidcallous
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made these rolls today as a 'trial run' while trying to find a winning recipe for thanksgiving dinner. This is it! Although when I make them tomorrow, I will add about an extra 1/2 tsp of salt or so.... I brushed some melted butter on these before baking to add a light 'shine' to them, and to encourage browning. These are AMAZING! I can't wait to hear the accolades!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidcallous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Yep these are the ones!! Although I do agree with othere reviews that this recipe could use a tad more salt. I feel that is a personal preference and does not take away from the ease of making these delicious rolls. I was looking for a recipe for dinner rolls for Thanksgiving and I think I have found it! Makes plenty and they turn out beautiful. Scaled recipe down to 15 servings and they turned out great! Thanks for sharing and bringing back so many great memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noemi - No way is she a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Living In: Paramount, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I was fortunate to grow up in a district where the school cafeteria food was pretty darn good. These rolls are just like the ones I grew up on. In fact, since my grandma was also my favorite lunch lady, this recipe takes me back to the days when she would bring me some of the leftover rolls to have at home. The schools also used to use the same dough to make the best cinnamon rolls. I'll be trying that this weekend. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This is nothing like my school food. You couldn't even eat my school food. LOL. But this is very good!!! I am making them for thanksgiving some of them I am going to add a little honey to them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Oh my! This takes me back to my school days for sure! As other reviewers have said, sure, these rolls could stand to have a little more salt. But things like that can be adjusted. The texture, fluffiness, and density of these rolls are what make this recipe 5 stars. Just perfect, and will absolutely be my go-to recipe from now on. Oh, and don't be afraid of the dough - it gets really sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spindale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I found these a little messy to make but well worth the effort. The recipe makes quite a bit so next time I am going to make half of it into cinnamon rolls. The basic dough is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This were okay. I made them for a family gathering, and no one was over excited about them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDJ1973

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
AWSOME! Even the lady at work who doesn't know how to cook can do this one! Thanks! Brings back many memories of school lunch ladies' fresh made bread! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These rolls are really light and fluffy but I did agree with others that they could use a little extra salt. Needed just a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hernando, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
These are delicate, tender, delicious, and far superior to everything my school lunchroom ever produced! I made a half batch--now I wish I'd made a double! I will use this over and over and over! I didn't change a thing except method-wise--I kneaded in the bowl, and used the tear-off-and-shape method. I did have to add about a half cup more flour when kneading--it was far too sticky but that's probably something to do with halving the recipe. EDIT: 11/2009: Made these again, using the overnight rise method. Even more delicious. But do be sure to let them reach room temperature before you bake, otherwise the tops will get too done before the middles are done! I gave mine 2.5 hours to reach room temp & ran out of time...so at least 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States