School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Excellent! Follow the recipe and you won't fail. I found it easier to roll and shape into mini oblong loaves about 3" long, then pressing by hand to flatten about 1" thick rather than rolling them out and cutting them. These are the lightest rolls you will find anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Great recipe. Did change a few things though.7 cups of flour instead of 10 and used 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening instead of 1/4 cup shortening. Mixed dry ingredients together, then added milk,eggs and salt and mixed together. Added the yeast and water last, because I heard that salt will deactivate the yeast.I also used the moist towel over them after I rolled them into balls and used salted butter.A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I made a half batch of rolls. The flavor of the rolls was great, but the texture wasn't. They didn't turn out fluffy and light like so many other reviewers found. I think there was too much flour because mine wasn't very sticky before baking. I'm going to try these out again, reducing the amount of flour, and hopefully they turn out as wonderful as others say they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I loved how the rolls rose and were so fluffy. They looked identical to the rolls in our school cafeteria. Although, the taste was not the same. They need something....can't quite put my finger on it....maybe a bit more sugar. I love this recipe, but would like more flavor. I brushed on some melted butter when I removed them from the oven, which made them beautiful. My husband ate three. He loved them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
My boyfriend has been on a cooking spree and decided to make these for my children and I! They were the best he's made yet! But of course he split the recipe in half and made 18 rolls for us and my (our) 2 teenage children! Way to go my cowboy! We love u so much! Keep up the good work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
the best on the net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Delicious, soft, plain white yeast rolls. If you are looking for a basic soft roll for dinner, this is it! I halved the recipie (I didn't have 10 cups of flour on hand!). I also cooked enough for dinner, and froze the rest of the dough in balls so I can have fresh baked brea on another evening. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This recipe is the closest one I've found to the rolls they used to serve in my high school. Absolutely delicious. I halved the recipe & it made about 20 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These are good, but not the taste I was expecting. Cafeteria rolls were denser and more buttery. It's a good recipe, but my search for the best rolls is still on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
loved the receipe-- but today i made them and placed uncooked hotdog and rolled up each bun to rise and then baked for a kids luncheon yum!! house smelled so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States