School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Halved the recipe, it made 27 good sized rolls. My family raved about these and said they reminded them of popular TR Steakhouse rolls. I'm getting ready to make them again and will be making the full recipe this time. I have found my new roll recipe! Awesome with honey and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Litegal1
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Outstanding. We absolutely loved. Scaled down to 15 and made primarily as directed. Noting following changes for my records (as I *will* be making these again): use 3T from the warm water along with sugar to proof yeast; 2 2/3 c flour; 1/3 c whole wheat + more when kneading. Do knead dough after adding flour - not much, but give it a few nice turns. Only added about 1T of melted butter after 1st rise and then kneaded for a good 3-5 minutes. Baked in 13x9" buttered pan and mine did take a few minutes longer to bake - probably around 15 to 16 minutes. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is my go to recipe for Thanksgiving and Christmas rolls. I've made this recipe about a dozen times now. Easy and amazing dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Wow! These were EXACTLY the rolls I remember from school. Thank you!!! I read the reviews before I made these and noticed many comments said they were bland, so I looked up typical salt-to-flour ratios for yeast breads, and the amount was off by 2 teaspoons, more if more flour is used while kneading. (Ratio is 1/2 teaspoon salt per 1 cup flour.) I didn't have shortening so I substituted butter for that, and since shortening is 100% fat and butter is 20% water (if you use typical butter--European butter has a higher fat content), I used a tablespoon more butter (so 5 tablespoons were used) for rubbing into the flour, and took away a tablespoon of water from the 3 cups. These were amazing!!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Finally, the recipe for rolls like we use to get in the school cafeteria! I did use rapid rise yeast for this. I used my stand mixer and dough hook and let it do all the work. Make the rolls a good size (golf ball). I also found that using a round pie/cake pan worked better than a baking dish as the rolls rose more evenly. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Excellent! Follow the recipe and you won't fail. I found it easier to roll and shape into mini oblong loaves about 3" long, then pressing by hand to flatten about 1" thick rather than rolling them out and cutting them. These are the lightest rolls you will find anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vince T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Great recipe. Did change a few things though.7 cups of flour instead of 10 and used 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening instead of 1/4 cup shortening. Mixed dry ingredients together, then added milk,eggs and salt and mixed together. Added the yeast and water last, because I heard that salt will deactivate the yeast.I also used the moist towel over them after I rolled them into balls and used salted butter.A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I made a half batch of rolls. The flavor of the rolls was great, but the texture wasn't. They didn't turn out fluffy and light like so many other reviewers found. I think there was too much flour because mine wasn't very sticky before baking. I'm going to try these out again, reducing the amount of flour, and hopefully they turn out as wonderful as others say they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I loved how the rolls rose and were so fluffy. They looked identical to the rolls in our school cafeteria. Although, the taste was not the same. They need something....can't quite put my finger on it....maybe a bit more sugar. I love this recipe, but would like more flavor. I brushed on some melted butter when I removed them from the oven, which made them beautiful. My husband ate three. He loved them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
My boyfriend has been on a cooking spree and decided to make these for my children and I! They were the best he's made yet! But of course he split the recipe in half and made 18 rolls for us and my (our) 2 teenage children! Way to go my cowboy! We love u so much! Keep up the good work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States