School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Absolutely Great, soft and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by st.fe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Just found this recipe and had to make a batch. They were just like I remembered!! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This is my family's favorite roll recipe. They usually don't make it 24 hours without being all gone. My only "amendments" are that I use honey when proofing the yeast instead of the white sugar (I like the taste in the final product--but I still use the white sugar in the flour step) and I use butter flavored shortening, or softened butter instead of normal shortening(also for better flavor in the final product). Really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Easy recipe with great results! I used my dough hook attachment instead of using my hands. I also ran the dishwasher and used the warm dishwasher to proof the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Seriously. Awesome. The recipe is so very easy. I halved it and thank goodness I did because my scale is already calling me names. If you can just eat one then please don't let the door hit you where the good Lord split you. Thanks for the easy to crowd please and indulge in my carb fetish recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
great rolls. Easy to make and taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisadamole
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Great as buns for pulled pork barbecue. The leftovers, split and grilled with jam were a hit at breakfast too. Nice recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
LOVE THESE ROLLS. They're delicious. Follow the recipe you can't go wrong. Don't listen to others changing the recipe. Then, they complain that recipe didn't turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Perfect rolls. The only change I made was to add a tiny bit more salt than called for, perhaps 1/4 teaspoon, as per another member's suggestion. I've made these twice and will again and again as they get scarfed down instantly. I cannot recommend the recipe strongly enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MikoH6
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
These rolls were deliciously light and fluffy. However, I did make a few changes. First, I halved the recipe, but I used 2 packets of the yeast, 1/2cup sugar instead of the 1/3, 3 1/2cups white flour and 1 1/2cups whole wheat flour, I started with 1/8cup milk but ended up adding about a 1/4 milk or a little more because of the thickness the whole wheat flour brings(although I added the extra milk after all the ingredients were in just to pull the dough off the bowl), 3tbls. shortening, and 3tbls. butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altadena, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States