School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
great rolls when fresh. found that they got a little dry after they had cooled for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I don't think that rolls can get much better. I was worried that they weren't rising, but turned out great! Halved the recipe, used .50 ounces of yeast. Soft, big, delicious-tasting with butter drizzled over them. I am NEVER resorting to BISCUITS again. ROLLS are where it's at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlreadyAlready

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I, like other reviewers, am wondering how it is that I really didn't like these rolls, yet others really loved them. Different strokes I guess. The rolls in my school cafeteria were amazing and these just tasted completely bland. The only flavor I could taste was the yeast, which wasn't appealing. Since it made so many, I threw out lots of rolls. My family just didn't enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This is a great recipe!! I think it can be very versitile! I do think it needs a little more salt :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These rolls are awsome!! Makes a whole bunch of rolls! My family of five all liked it alot!! I have tried many different yeast roll recipes and by far this one is the best!! moist, perfectly brown and simple to make!!! thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This is, without a doubt, the best bread recipe I have found yet. Very light & fluffy. I added a little more sugar because I like a sweeter bread. Turned out wonderful. I will be serving these at our Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigred1says

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made these rolls for my Thanksgiving dinner for the first time on 11/22/07. They were positively AWFUL! They were dry and flavorless. I think the recipe calls for way to much flour. What a waste of time and ingredients. It made 54 rolls. I had 27 people for dinner. What a flop. They went begging. They certainly weren't anything close to the school rolls we used to get which were high, light, fluffy and delicious. Don't waste your time making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
unbelievable........... My ex wifes family invites me to holiday meals and assign me the Roll part... Use this recipe everytime....... perfect.... My Grandma use to be cook at high school and gave this recipe to me but it was for 250 rolls this one is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These are the best! They were so easy to make and the family LOVED them! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
These rolls were good although they weren't just like MY lunchroom rolls when I was a kid! I like the more doughy, gooey soft rolls. If you're like me, reduce the bake time to 10 minutes and remove BEFORE the rolls are golden brown. I also used unsalted butter b/c the recipe didn't say either way but next time I will use salted. I also used square bake pans instead of the round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States