School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Delicious, soft, plain white yeast rolls. If you are looking for a basic soft roll for dinner, this is it! I halved the recipie (I didn't have 10 cups of flour on hand!). I also cooked enough for dinner, and froze the rest of the dough in balls so I can have fresh baked brea on another evening. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This recipe is the closest one I've found to the rolls they used to serve in my high school. Absolutely delicious. I halved the recipe & it made about 20 rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
These are good, but not the taste I was expecting. Cafeteria rolls were denser and more buttery. It's a good recipe, but my search for the best rolls is still on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
loved the receipe-- but today i made them and placed uncooked hotdog and rolled up each bun to rise and then baked for a kids luncheon yum!! house smelled so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used this for my 1st time baking rolls and it was a success! Now I use it as a guideline. We eat whole wheat so I substitute 7 cups with wheat and use less sugar. They turn out great everytime! Thank you for posting!!! :) also note: My mother in law is a great baker and is jealous of the texture of my bread! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I'm 14, and this is the first dinner roll recipe I've ever made. It was SSOOO easy and tasted delious!!! These rolls are light, fluffy, and flavorful. I am going to make these for every holiday and special occasion. 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Milton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I decided to try this recipe and these rolls are really good. Almost like the lunchroom rolls I grew up eating. I tried to follow the recipe exactly but goofed it up a few times. It did not appear to rise properly, it was super sticky and I used more oil/butter on my hands so I could form these into balls. I had to bake mine longer and use the broiler to brown the tops. I buttered the tops as soon as they came out of the oven. I also used convection baking. So, this recipe is somewhat forgiving because they turned out perfect. I have never baked a roll in my life but will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Shivers
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Now these are some great, easy to make and tasty yeast rolls. I did cut the recipe down to 15 and made 14 rolls, placed in a buttered 9x13 glass dish. I did have to bake for about 17-18 minutes to get the nice browning. They are light, fluffy and I think the flavor is just what I love! Served with Brown Sugar Meatloaf and fresh greenbeans with little new potatoes. What a gourmet meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Shivers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
These were not what I was expecting taste wise. They were very bland. I would have given only 3 stars, but I scaled down the recipe and did not make as posted. The rolls had a nice fluffiness and texture was beautiful, but taste was just blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States