School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by corynkia
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
We love these rolls. They are so good. I will be making these from now on when we need rolls for dinner. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This recipe is perfect! I made it exactly as it says. Served them with dinner with some honey cinnamon butter... delicious! Froze some of them since it makes so many.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Just Loved Them. They were TERRRRRIFIC!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Dubuque, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bernard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Delicious. It is just like the school cafeteria rolls! I made these for our family Christmas dinner and everybody really liked them. I made the full recipe and they disappeared fast! Went to have one for lunch today & they were gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
used whole wheat flour...still delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Halved the recipe, it made 27 good sized rolls. My family raved about these and said they reminded them of popular TR Steakhouse rolls. I'm getting ready to make them again and will be making the full recipe this time. I have found my new roll recipe! Awesome with honey and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Litegal1
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Outstanding. We absolutely loved. Scaled down to 15 and made primarily as directed. Noting following changes for my records (as I *will* be making these again): use 3T from the warm water along with sugar to proof yeast; 2 2/3 c flour; 1/3 c whole wheat + more when kneading. Do knead dough after adding flour - not much, but give it a few nice turns. Only added about 1T of melted butter after 1st rise and then kneaded for a good 3-5 minutes. Baked in 13x9" buttered pan and mine did take a few minutes longer to bake - probably around 15 to 16 minutes. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is my go to recipe for Thanksgiving and Christmas rolls. I've made this recipe about a dozen times now. Easy and amazing dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Wow! These were EXACTLY the rolls I remember from school. Thank you!!! I read the reviews before I made these and noticed many comments said they were bland, so I looked up typical salt-to-flour ratios for yeast breads, and the amount was off by 2 teaspoons, more if more flour is used while kneading. (Ratio is 1/2 teaspoon salt per 1 cup flour.) I didn't have shortening so I substituted butter for that, and since shortening is 100% fat and butter is 20% water (if you use typical butter--European butter has a higher fat content), I used a tablespoon more butter (so 5 tablespoons were used) for rubbing into the flour, and took away a tablespoon of water from the 3 cups. These were amazing!!! Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Finally, the recipe for rolls like we use to get in the school cafeteria! I did use rapid rise yeast for this. I used my stand mixer and dough hook and let it do all the work. Make the rolls a good size (golf ball). I also found that using a round pie/cake pan worked better than a baking dish as the rolls rose more evenly. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States