School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Yes, yes, yes! Fabulous warm, light, fluffy mounds of deliciousness!! Don't improvise, just follow the recipe and be sure to let them double in size on the last rise! We devoured them with butter and honey - YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was a great recipe. My kids loved them and they smelled so good when they were baking. I did cut this recipe down to a 20 serving. I am a single mother with two kids so even this serving size is more than enough. The recipe allow for you to adjust and it gives adjustment based on size, but I further tweaked it by using a whole egg, 3 2/3 cups of flour 3 tablespoons of sugar and 4 tablespoons of shortening. My experience with baking allowed me to make these judgements and they worked great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Tried the school house rolls and compared them against the "old family recipe" this one was much easier and the rolls were a big hit. I added just a smidgen more sugar on the first kneading. We ran out of rolls within a couple of hours. They were GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Although I followed the recipe to a "T" and the rolls looked delicious before going into the oven, they came out dry and a little hard. And they didn't puff up at all in the oven..not really sure why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
We are a family of seven and for one of the few times in our lives, all seven of us were thoroughly pleased! They cleaned the tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Can't wait to try this recipe. I love hot rolls and my school made the best. We had wonderful meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Moody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I tried the recipe, making 1/2 the original. I was greatly disappointed.These turned out without much taste to them. I was looking for a recipe that really enhanced the yeast in the taste.Gonna try Sweet yeast rolls next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Minneola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Didn't work at all. I ended up with rolls better suited for golfing. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These rolls were awesome! I even made a couple of goofs in the recipe (not paying attention!) and they still came out light and fluffly and tender. I did add an extra 2 teaspoons of salt to the mix. It made about 40 rolls. I baked 16 of them, froze 8 of those and the rest of the dough I also froze after shaping it into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Loved these. Have been looking for a soft roll recipe for ages. Halved the amounts but needed less liquid, but apart from that they were great. Could I freeze the dough - before or after rising? and does it really rise in the fridge overnight? Thanks for the recipe MOMMY2THREEANGELS !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States