Schnitzel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
this recipe is easy and delicous. I added a bit of garlic powder as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
We have schnitzel at least once a week in my house. since its hard to find veal in Alabama, using cube steaks sounds alot easier than using the thin pork chops and having to beat them even thinner like i do. I also use plain bread crumbs instead of flour and cornmeal (less messy). Im going to use cube steak next time...Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marczewska
Home Town: Trussville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Moody, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great German recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very good!!!! My close German friend showed me a recipe similar to this. You can also make this with sausage too. This is easy to make and delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salads4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Excellent recipe. The only thing I changed was I substituted boneless pork chops for the cube steaks. My husband raved and raved. He lived in Germany for 8 years and developed a serious addiction to schnitzels. This was very authentic. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I tried this with the cube steak. It turned out good but didn't taste like schnitzel to us. It reminded me of what my Grandmother from Arkansas used to make. Probably will try it again with pork chops. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
My husband and I really liked this. I did not expect it to be as tender as it was. I did not really like the cornmeal texture in the breading though. The only things I did different was to add garlic powder and paprika to the flour and cornmeal mixture. I also made a mushroom and onion gravy to go over it and served it all with buttered pasta. Overall an excellent recipe. I don't care if the name is possibly wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Some of you noted that this is like chicken-fried steak. Chicken-fried steak is considered a Texas dish, BUT a lot of Germans emigrated to Texas. So chicken-fried steak is German Schnitzel, translated to American food products. Mystery solved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is about as true a schnitzel recipe as I've seen in my German cookbooks. It's really good. It's even better if you tenderize the pork cutlets the day before and let them soak overnight in a mix of milk and egg in the fridge (just enough to cover the cutlets). They are much more moist and flavorful. We also like to top our schnitzel with both a strip of swiss and a strip of cheddar or american cheese, then stick them in a warmed oven for a few minutes to let the cheese melt. We picked this up from a friend who was born and raised German (entire family is still there). It's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Tasty, although kind of bland, comfort-food. Sometimes... that is a nice change though, from always having so many different, spicier foods. I found that 1 cup of flour & cornmeal and 3 eggs must be a 'typo' error. I wasted more than half of the dipping ingredients (and I doubled breaded). I made a sweet and sour sauce to dip into and served with mashed potatoes, green beans, fresh pineapple mixed in cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States