Schmag Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This was a great way to use the grapefruit I had laying around! I did not have orange extract, so I added the juice of ½ orange instead. I also did not have mangoes, pears or jicama. For 3 hearty servings, I used ½ grapefruit for juice, ½ orange for juice, 2 Tbsp. honey, 2 Tbsp. cilantro (the fresh kind in a tube they sell in the produce refrigerated section), ½ grapefruit for chunks, 1 ½ oranges for chunks and 1 red unpeeled apple for chunks. Very refreshing salad that got raves from my dinner crowd! Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made this salad for a work party and it was a HUGE hit!! I love the fact that it's unique and uses some of my favorite fruits!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Kind of silly to review your own recipe but I wanted to comment on the name of it. Unfortunately I could not get in under my original account name. Schmag is short for Schmagmattis. It is my nickname given to me by my brothers. I rarely write down recipes but have cooked for many years. I went through culinary school and worked at a five star resort. I made this recipe with a challenge from the chef in charge of the salad bar. He wanted something new and different for the customers. Thank you all for your reviews I really appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This is very good. I made it as written. This makes a huge amount of fruit salad -- those six servings are enormous ones. We liked it at lot. I wonder if anyone can tell me the origin of the name "Schmag Salad." Or dare I ask?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pollyhuff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutledge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Delicious! This is refreshing and a great combination of fruit. A change from the ordinary fruit salad. I didn't have the cilantro nor the jicama so I omitted those. I didn't have orange extract so I just juiced half of an orange and poured that in. We will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Lots of chopping but worth it. We have peaches in season so I used some firm peaches instead of the pears and it was great. The cilantro was a really nice kick. This is such a light summery salad - I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
The cilantro is the real zinger in this recipe....adds wonderful flavor! Although it takes a while to cut up the fruit, many compliments are sure to be received. I garnished the top of mine with thinly sliced persimmons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States