Schlotsky's Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made it and used 3 8" cake pans I bought especially for this recipe and it worked great. Made 3 breads. I wonder what would happen if you omitted the corn meal dusting. It tasted good, but was all over my fingers. I think I might try it without the dusting of corn meal. It shouldn't stick with the spray in the pan. I loved it. It seems just like the real thing, but because the real thing is so expensive, I haven't had any in a long time. So these seem just like it. I might even try it in my Panini maker which needs thick bread to press. Thin bread smashes way down. Regular sour dough is pretty good, but next time I make it I'll try the Panini maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by overkil37
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
When I tried this the first time it came out too dry. Used a suggestion from another reviewer and used half a cup more milk. Came out perfect. I used 5" quiche dishes that worked really well. Thanks for the recipe, have been longing for Scholtzky's for some time as there aren't any around me anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Very easy, quick and delicious. I actually used pottery bowls and split this into 5 or 6 smaller portions and baked. Works great and alot easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made hamburger buns with this recipe. They were okay, but lacking flavor. I think this recipe requires more salt. The texture was dense, but that is how this bread should be. I still liked this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
RN out of bread for school lunches...so I made some of this bread and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKFIFE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I like this recipe a lot. As others have said, it's not exactly a match, but it's very tasty and my family loves it. It's so simple and fast to make. My kids get excited when I ask if they want to help make it. My 9 year old can pretty much make this on her own now. I sub about 1/2 whole wheat flour and we all actually prefer the texture to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
It is good bread but I am not sure if it is any more special than other regular sandwich bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Really great recipe! I love that it's easy to make because all the ingredients are kitchen basics. The bread was a holy terror to get out of the pan, so next time I'll probably just line it with aluminum foil, spray it and sprinkle the corn meal. I prepared it exactly as stated and baked the dough in 2 loaf pans, then cut each loaf in half making 4 sandwich buns. I spread a chipotle mayo on, added cheese and meat and broiled the sandwich. The texture of the bread is very much like Schlotzsky's, which is what I was going for. BTW, the title name is spelled wrong, which made the recipe difficult to find. But it's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanJanRice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I increased the salt to 1tsp, I used butter flavored Pam, made a big difference, I sprayed my hand with Pam and spread the dough out in cake pans, made two large breads, cut into four servings each, great bread, easy to make, will use again, noticed the bread was even better the next day after it settled down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
WOW! I would never have believed that I would be able to make a Schlotsky's with my own meats. Thank you for this, so much!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States