Schlotsky's Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Ok, I've got it down. had the perfect Schlotsky's buns today!!! Substitute sour whole buttermilk for the milk in this recipe, here is what I did and it was a hit, tastes just like Schlotsky's buns: 2 1/2 C bread flour, 1 C. sourdough starter (loose starter not firm or stretchy), 1 packet rapid rise yeast, 1 Tbsp sugar, 1 tsp kosher salt, 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1/2 C water, 3/4 C warm whole buttermilk, about a week after sell by date - not bad buttermilk just a few days after the sell by date). This is what gives the buns the flavor you're looking for! Put lukewarm water 1/2 c with 1 tbsp. sugar and packet of yeast (be sure your water is not hot, but just luke warm - test it with a clean pinky - you should not feel the water at all, just room temp really!, stir well and let stand for a few minutes until bubbly. Put 2.5 cups of bread flour in a bowl, add 1 cup sourdough starter, add yeast mixture, baking soda, warm buttermilk, salt etc. Mix with a wooden spoon until combined. Divide into 3 6" spring form pans or loose on a baking sheet and let them rise for 45 minutes to an hour. Preheat oven to 375, bake for 30 to 40 minutes or until nicely browned on the tops. If the tops are not browning, take them out of the forms and put them back in for an additional 10 minutes. DELICIOUS!!! Then you can make your original sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is a really good bread recipe for sandwiches. It is not exactly like Shlotsky's bread but still pretty close to it. I made this bread to make muffeletta sandwiches with and they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
So close! Needs just a tad more salt. I fixed the sandwich and watched my husband take a bite. He said. "Well schlotskys just lost our business" I put cheese on on each round piece ( Colby and mozzerela) put it in the broiler for a couple minutes till melted. Then I put this amazing olive salad that I found at the commissary. Then added the lunch meat! Put it together and cut into servings! Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCSEWLADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I made it and used 3 8" cake pans I bought especially for this recipe and it worked great. Made 3 breads. I wonder what would happen if you omitted the corn meal dusting. It tasted good, but was all over my fingers. I think I might try it without the dusting of corn meal. It shouldn't stick with the spray in the pan. I loved it. It seems just like the real thing, but because the real thing is so expensive, I haven't had any in a long time. So these seem just like it. I might even try it in my Panini maker which needs thick bread to press. Thin bread smashes way down. Regular sour dough is pretty good, but next time I make it I'll try the Panini maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by overkil37
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
When I tried this the first time it came out too dry. Used a suggestion from another reviewer and used half a cup more milk. Came out perfect. I used 5" quiche dishes that worked really well. Thanks for the recipe, have been longing for Scholtzky's for some time as there aren't any around me anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Very easy, quick and delicious. I actually used pottery bowls and split this into 5 or 6 smaller portions and baked. Works great and alot easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made hamburger buns with this recipe. They were okay, but lacking flavor. I think this recipe requires more salt. The texture was dense, but that is how this bread should be. I still liked this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
RN out of bread for school lunches...so I made some of this bread and my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKFIFE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I like this recipe a lot. As others have said, it's not exactly a match, but it's very tasty and my family loves it. It's so simple and fast to make. My kids get excited when I ask if they want to help make it. My 9 year old can pretty much make this on her own now. I sub about 1/2 whole wheat flour and we all actually prefer the texture to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
It is good bread but I am not sure if it is any more special than other regular sandwich bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States