Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I did as another reviewer suggested and used 1-1/2 cups of applesauce and 2 cups of cinnamon and it was the perfect clay-like consistency and I didn't have any fall apart. Use a straw or toothpick to make holes. I added a little allspice and nutmeg to the mix and baked at 150 degrees for 1 hour on a cookie sheet. I went ahead and strung ribbon through the holes after they cooled and they dried the rest of the way hanging from my tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Just did this. So easy (for me). My kids pretty much just had pick out the ornament shape they'll later get to decorate....I didn't have the time to really let them help as I have finals week coming up. Boo hoo. I placed just a bit of dough at a time between wax paper, just enough to make one ornament. I patted the dough to about 1/3". Lift the top layer of wax paper, then push the ornament-shape into the dough. Scrape the excess from around the ornament-shape, slide hand under the bottom wax paper and gently flip ornament into other hand. Lay onto cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. I used parchment paper on cookie sheet in case I have a hot oven and want to pop them in there for a bit to dry faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was too gooey and not roll-able. I should have followed the proportion on McCormick's website, which calls for 3/4 cup applesauce to 1 cup plus 2 Tablespoons cinnamon. This worked well when I added a bunch more cinnamon, though, and rolled it out with more yet. The house smelled wonderful as they dried on a low temp in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made these with my two older boys when they were 6&7 (now 26&25), stored them in ziplock bag each year and they lasted till about 8 yrs ago. They talk about them so much that their 15yr old brother wants me to make them again. Definitely going to keep the cinnamon oil in mind this time. Funny how they're not so crazy about the expensive collectible ornaments I spent so much money on over the years and wanted to hand over to them for their own trees this year.....I guess those are my memories...I guess it's the old gift vs the box thing. So I will pass on the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Made these w my 4-year-old daughter today as a teacher gift tag/tree ornament! Used to make these w/ my Kindergarten students and they were always a huge success! You have to roll them out thick, at least 1/2 inch thick and use a straw to poke a hole into them before you let them either air dry 2-4 days or oven-bake at 200 degrees for a couple of hours. Such a nice holiday tradition and a great recipe that you can scale as needed with a 1:1 ratio of cinnamon to applesauce, opting to use more cinnamon to applesauce as it can be a bit runny or pasty/sticky if you don't use enough cinnamon. I used 1 cup sauce to 1 cup cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellybelly08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My mom made these about 20 years ago. Only one is left but it still smells amazing!! I plan on doing them this year with my 2 & 1 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I think the ornaments turned out nice, but the amount of cinnamon it took to make them filled the air like dust and made me sick to my stomach. Maybe I'm just really sensitive but the quantity of such an aroma was too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
after the ornaments dry we like using puffy paints for faces etc. you can make a gingerbread boy into a dancer, sport kid or whatever you choose. Get a variety of colors and have fun personalizing them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These were amazing. Taking the reviews into account, I used 1 cup applesauce and 1 cup cinnamon and was prepared to use more cinnamon if the consistency wasn't right. Surprisingly, the ratio was perfect! I did bake mine, as suggested, and decorated them with glue and glitter or paint. I poked the holes with a straw. Thank you for a fun project! I am not sure if the scent holds, but we'll have to wait and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I have made these ornaments with my children, 9, 7 and 4 every year! I mixed 1cup apple sauce to 1 cup cinnamon until all incorporated, then add the 1/2 cup cinnamon. Use your hands to mix everything. Once mixed it will form ball and knead. I double the batch, use a straw to make hole before I bake. I am able to make 35 ornaments. I do not add glue or flour. When rolling out, I sprinkle cinnamon on table and rolling pin. My kids decorate with beads and glitter. We add ribbon and done . Great tradition and family time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

All about Cinnamon

Discover the secrets of this exotic spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States