Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I had to work a lot more cinnamon into the mix to get the dough to hold. Not sure how much because I made 1/3 of the recipe and just kept shaking more cinnamon into the bowl till I got a dough that was dry enough to work with. I also found that adding some white glue into the mix helped to keep it together. It smells amazing and 1/3 of the recipe yielded 8 (4") snowflake cutouts at 1/4 " thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
These were fun to make with my daughter and smell so good hung around the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I did as another reviewer suggested and used 1-1/2 cups of applesauce and 2 cups of cinnamon and it was the perfect clay-like consistency and I didn't have any fall apart. Use a straw or toothpick to make holes. I added a little allspice and nutmeg to the mix and baked at 150 degrees for 1 hour on a cookie sheet. I went ahead and strung ribbon through the holes after they cooled and they dried the rest of the way hanging from my tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Just did this. So easy (for me). My kids pretty much just had pick out the ornament shape they'll later get to decorate....I didn't have the time to really let them help as I have finals week coming up. Boo hoo. I placed just a bit of dough at a time between wax paper, just enough to make one ornament. I patted the dough to about 1/3". Lift the top layer of wax paper, then push the ornament-shape into the dough. Scrape the excess from around the ornament-shape, slide hand under the bottom wax paper and gently flip ornament into other hand. Lay onto cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. I used parchment paper on cookie sheet in case I have a hot oven and want to pop them in there for a bit to dry faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was too gooey and not roll-able. I should have followed the proportion on McCormick's website, which calls for 3/4 cup applesauce to 1 cup plus 2 Tablespoons cinnamon. This worked well when I added a bunch more cinnamon, though, and rolled it out with more yet. The house smelled wonderful as they dried on a low temp in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made these with my two older boys when they were 6&7 (now 26&25), stored them in ziplock bag each year and they lasted till about 8 yrs ago. They talk about them so much that their 15yr old brother wants me to make them again. Definitely going to keep the cinnamon oil in mind this time. Funny how they're not so crazy about the expensive collectible ornaments I spent so much money on over the years and wanted to hand over to them for their own trees this year.....I guess those are my memories...I guess it's the old gift vs the box thing. So I will pass on the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Made these w my 4-year-old daughter today as a teacher gift tag/tree ornament! Used to make these w/ my Kindergarten students and they were always a huge success! You have to roll them out thick, at least 1/2 inch thick and use a straw to poke a hole into them before you let them either air dry 2-4 days or oven-bake at 200 degrees for a couple of hours. Such a nice holiday tradition and a great recipe that you can scale as needed with a 1:1 ratio of cinnamon to applesauce, opting to use more cinnamon to applesauce as it can be a bit runny or pasty/sticky if you don't use enough cinnamon. I used 1 cup sauce to 1 cup cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle Daskal Aynessazian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My mom made these about 20 years ago. Only one is left but it still smells amazing!! I plan on doing them this year with my 2 & 1 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I think the ornaments turned out nice, but the amount of cinnamon it took to make them filled the air like dust and made me sick to my stomach. Maybe I'm just really sensitive but the quantity of such an aroma was too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
after the ornaments dry we like using puffy paints for faces etc. you can make a gingerbread boy into a dancer, sport kid or whatever you choose. Get a variety of colors and have fun personalizing them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States