Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Making ornaments with this dough is a lot of fun and the result smells delightful! 1 1/2 cups applesauce to 2 cups cinnamon works for me to get a clay-like consistency. Dust hands with cinnamon for handling. You can add a teaspoon of cloves, ginger and allspice to round out the fragrance. To get them dry quicker, bake on an ungreased cookie sheet at 150 degrees for one hour. Remove from the cookie sheets and bake on the oven racks for another hour and a half. (Don't roll thinner than 1/4 inch if you're using this method.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
374 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
I made 200 of these ornaments as placeholders for my company xmas party, and they were a big hit. I bake mine in a slow oven (175 degrees C) for 2 to 3 hours, and it definitely makes your home smell delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
My family made these this year for our Christmas tree and to give out to friends and family. It was fairly easy to work with and kid friendly (I have a two year old and a one year old.) We put the dough between two pieces of wax paper to roll it out. We used a straw to make a hole for the ribbon and we also baked them in the oven as was suggested by the other reviews. I did have a problem getting them off of the cookie sheet- because they weren't completely dry, so be patient, eventually they do dry! We made about 60 ornaments and the only suggestion I can think us is to make sure you don't roll the dough too thin. At least a forth of an inch or so. We bought our cinnamon at Walmart- it was only .50 a bottle and we used 5 bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This is a terrific recipe, my kids and I have made it for years and years. One variation that we tried this year was to melt hard candy in the center of the cookie cut outs. We just cut out the middle of ceratin cookie forms (simple shapes work best) put some crushed hard candies in the center and melted them in the oven. Make sure you spray the cookie sheet so they dont stick. They look like stained glass!! Lots of fun and they look and smell great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This recipe is good but I add a bit of white glue to mine to give it a little added strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
This has quickly become our Christmas tradition. The kids first made these at school and for the last several years we have made them at home. We poke holes in them for hanging on the tree or gift tags. When they are dry we spread the dining room table with newspaper and paint them. T-shirt paints with the fine line tips are great for kids to handle and make small details with. These ornaments will give your home and tree a wonderful scent. Friends and family love to receive them on their packages as tags, you can paint on the name of the recipient! Tip: Shop the "dollar" stores for cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
as stated, this is easy and fun as a family project, gift tags, or car scent. There is a cinnamon flavoring sold in Walmart in the crafts section of the store called LorrAnn sold in dram bottles for $1.97. A drop of this cinnamon oil (on the ornament) will refresh these ornaments with a big BURST of cinnamon smell that will last, and last and last...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This was a fun project. Definately use something larger than a toothpick for the hole - (we ended up needing to drill a larger hole through all of ours) - a straw would probably work better. Got the cinnamon at Sam's Club for a little over $3 (exactly 3 c.). Took about 3 days to dry if not baked. I would cut them at LEAST 1/4" - probably a bit thicker. We used fabric paint to decorate and craft paint. They turned out really cute! My 5 yr old and 3 yr old had a blast. Also, after paint dried I used spray polyurithane on both sides to preserve. I was worried it would interfere with the smell, but it didn't. All the relatives loved receiving these from the kids this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANDRMOM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
We made these when my son was in the 3rd grade. He is a senior this year and they still smell great. I store in a ziploc after the holidays. We hang a garland in the doorway and the ornaments from it. When you walk through you just feel good from the homey aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Made 100's of these as package tie-ons, tree ornaments and even hung them in our cars on the door knobs as air fresheners. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean View, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States