Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
I worked for a daycare center and use to make these with the kids for X-mas gifts...It is fun for all age's! and the smell......wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This was so much fun to make. My daughter and I rolled them out and cut them with Christmas cookie cutters (making sure that the rolling pin was floured)and used a straw to make holes. After 3 days drying time we decorated them with puffy paint (icing) and strung festive ribbon on them. They smell so good. We will hang them on our tree and use them for gift tags. We got a lot of ornaments from this batch. One more tip we dried them on waxed paper to prevent sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This is a terrific recipe, my kids and I have made it for years and years. One variation that we tried this year was to melt hard candy in the center of the cookie cut outs. We just cut out the middle of ceratin cookie forms (simple shapes work best) put some crushed hard candies in the center and melted them in the oven. Make sure you spray the cookie sheet so they dont stick. They look like stained glass!! Lots of fun and they look and smell great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
Oh, making these was too fun!! I felt like a kid again. I followed the 1-1 ratio shown here and used 1 cup applesauce and 1 cup cinnamon for mine, and got about 34 small ornaments/package tie-ons. I used a small chopstick to poke a hole in each one, and will hang them on my tree and one in my car when they finish drying! I decided not to bake them, so I will air dry them for a few days, turning them every day (as others on the Internet have suggested). They smell great! 'course, my son came home from school, smelled them and took a big ol' bite out of one! Ewww. Do not eat ~wink~. Thanks, Valerie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I have made these every Christmas since a friend of mine told me you can make them at home. They smell up the house so beautiful! I love to make them just before our holiday parties or before guests come to warm the home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Made 100's of these as package tie-ons, tree ornaments and even hung them in our cars on the door knobs as air fresheners. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean View, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
My family made these this year for our Christmas tree and to give out to friends and family. It was fairly easy to work with and kid friendly (I have a two year old and a one year old.) We put the dough between two pieces of wax paper to roll it out. We used a straw to make a hole for the ribbon and we also baked them in the oven as was suggested by the other reviews. I did have a problem getting them off of the cookie sheet- because they weren't completely dry, so be patient, eventually they do dry! We made about 60 ornaments and the only suggestion I can think us is to make sure you don't roll the dough too thin. At least a forth of an inch or so. We bought our cinnamon at Walmart- it was only .50 a bottle and we used 5 bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
This recipe was very easy. It makes a little more than 15 ornamements. I ended up with 45 and I still had dough left over. They were about 2 1/2 inches long and about 1/4 in. thick-a pretty good size. When I used the cookie cutters I ended up with that annoying "edge" around the cookie, so I moved the cookie cutter around in all directions and used a small straw for the hole and they turned out PERFECT! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
I made 200 of these ornaments as placeholders for my company xmas party, and they were a big hit. I bake mine in a slow oven (175 degrees C) for 2 to 3 hours, and it definitely makes your home smell delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
This has quickly become our Christmas tradition. The kids first made these at school and for the last several years we have made them at home. We poke holes in them for hanging on the tree or gift tags. When they are dry we spread the dining room table with newspaper and paint them. T-shirt paints with the fine line tips are great for kids to handle and make small details with. These ornaments will give your home and tree a wonderful scent. Friends and family love to receive them on their packages as tags, you can paint on the name of the recipient! Tip: Shop the "dollar" stores for cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

All about Cinnamon

Discover the secrets of this exotic spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States