Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I'd like to make a correction. I baked mine on gas mark 1 for 20 mins on one side and then 20 mins on the other side. Then I air dried them for the rest of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
as stated, this is easy and fun as a family project, gift tags, or car scent. There is a cinnamon flavoring sold in Walmart in the crafts section of the store called LorrAnn sold in dram bottles for $1.97. A drop of this cinnamon oil (on the ornament) will refresh these ornaments with a big BURST of cinnamon smell that will last, and last and last...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
This recipe is good but I add a bit of white glue to mine to give it a little added strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
We've made these a few times and they're always big hits. We've put holes in them, prior to baking, and given them as car air fresheners. We've decorated the baked ornaments with squeeze paint to look like gingerbread men. The scent lasts a good long time and as long as the dough is a good 1/4 inch thick they are pretty sturdy. One warning- the cinnamon is very drying so either wear gloves or kneed in a mixer. Great scout project, or wonderful alternative to flour dough ornaments for those with wheat allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
What a fun recipe! Made these for all my co-workers and they were delighted. I took the suggestion of MBUENZLI and baked them instead of letting them air dry. They came out great and will definitely be making more of these in the future! Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Making ornaments with this dough is a lot of fun and the result smells delightful! 1 1/2 cups applesauce to 2 cups cinnamon works for me to get a clay-like consistency. Dust hands with cinnamon for handling. You can add a teaspoon of cloves, ginger and allspice to round out the fragrance. To get them dry quicker, bake on an ungreased cookie sheet at 150 degrees for one hour. Remove from the cookie sheets and bake on the oven racks for another hour and a half. (Don't roll thinner than 1/4 inch if you're using this method.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Great smelling-I added a little glue and extra cinnamon. Makes a wet paste that I smushed on my counter and cut out with cookie cutters. Took 3-4 days to dry and I did turn them once a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Wonderful! I agree with Tanaquil, I always use glue with my recipe. People love receiving these! I usually just do hearts and use a gingham ribbon through the hole. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
We made these when my son was in the 3rd grade. He is a senior this year and they still smell great. I store in a ziploc after the holidays. We hang a garland in the doorway and the ornaments from it. When you walk through you just feel good from the homey aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I made these for the Christmas tree at work with all my coworkers names on them. Next time I will roll the dough a LOT thicker so they look like cookies more. Mine were thin and when they dried they kind of curled up. I loved making them, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMYSHORES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States