Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Nicole1213
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Overall very easy and great-smelling. I had a little trouble rolling it out in the beginning, but the more I worked with it the easier it was. I think next time I will add some glue as others have suggested to make them a little less brittle (the only reason I didn't give 5 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole1213

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I just received this recipe as an email from the McCormick site and they have that you can bake them at 200F for about 2 1/2 hours. They harden up nicely and you don't have to wait days to decorate them. Good recipe though :) 2008/12/6: I just tried to take them off the cookie sheet and they all stuck and broke :( gonna make them again but this time I'll put them on parchment paper Just made these today. Very easy to make, very sticky though. I just put them on a cookie sheet and there stuck so once there cooled I'll have to see what I can do to take then off. The only thing I didn't like about making this was the overwhelming sent of cinnamon in my house, at first it was nice but after baking for 2hrs WOW very strong. Still though the kids are looking forward to painting them tomorrow. Dec 5,2009: Just took them out today and they still smell nice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This were so cute on the tree last year. My kids and I enjoyed making them and the house smelled wonderful for days! My only complaint with them is that they are so fragile that there wasn't any use trying to save them for this year. That's ok though. They were easy to do, cheap, and beautiful. They'll be a yearly tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
it was good made my house smell WAY too much like cinnamon so much that it made me sick :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These smelled good while baking and for a short time afterwards, but not as long as I had hoped. A bit too much prep and work for the payoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe was easy, accurate, and the ornaments turned out so beautifully! They were old-fashioned and easy to paint with acrylics. I baked them at 250 degrees for 2 1/2 hours and they came out perfectly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarmonyStar111

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
my son had made these ornaments about 6 years ago at school...I had no idea what they were made of & that it was so easy. They still smell great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Great project to do with my two-year old for Christmas. Very messy for mommy, but lots of fun! It made my kitchen smell like cinnamon for days...many, many days. Once the ornaments dried, I used rough-grit sandpaper and sanded down the edges. The ornaments turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
We added some glue to make them stiffer. They are so easy to make!! This project was very kid friendly. We used various cookie cutters and decorated them like ginger cookies to put on our candy themed tree. They smell great but do take a loooong time to dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

All about Cinnamon

Discover the secrets of this exotic spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States