Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I'm going to say, this as so so for me. The end result for the 6 ornaments I got out of the batch did great. However equal parts didn't match up for me. I ended up having to use more and more and more cinnamon to get it to a ball like stage. Then the dough stuck to the counter top, so I put on wax paper..that was a mistake because then it didn't come off the wax paper. So then I used parchment. That seem to help but by this time I was getting flustered. So I decided to shake cinnamon on the countertop like flour and that helped a lot. But after one small portion and 6 tree cut outs. I gave up. Something is a miss here. I did see someone mentioning glue. And maybe that's it. So I'll try again at a later time. And they did have a scent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and it didn't turn out right at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
We made these for the first time over the holidays this past year and LOVED how yummy my house smelled! We will make these annually for the holidays now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neecie_Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My son and I made these in heart shapes for Valentine's Day. We added some glue and some fine red glitter. Great gifts for Grandma, teachers, etc. They are still drying, but so far so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Not smelly enough to suit me. Maybe I need to find some cinnamon oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Frick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I made these to hand out at my office Christmas party. They were a big hit. I only got about 30 ornaments out of the recipe but I did make them a little thicker. Took approx 3 days to dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sally
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
We made these yesterday. They turned out beautifully. I only used 1c applesauce and slightly more than 1c cinnamon. Actually, I gave each of my kids an individual applesauce cup and there own mixing bowl and spoon and measured a heaping 1/2c cinnamon for them and set them loose mixing and kneading the dough. They loved making these. We, too, used straws to make the hole for the ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Runny and didn't smell as strong as I thought they would after a week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rocksteady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Watch out on the ratios. I used a tad too much applesauce and it was a tad sticky. Smelled great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I used my stand mixer to make this dough and let me just say, be prepared for a mess if you mix it this way...clouds of cinnamon deposited everywhere, but it was lots of fun. This recipe makes A LOT of ornaments, could have halved the recipe and still had plenty. The only alterations I made to this was to add 2-3Tbsp of white glue for strength and approx 3 tsp copper colored ultra fine glitter to the dough. It just added a bit of sparkle to the dull cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Chef John's Baked Apple Roses

Dessert made from puff pastry, apples, and cinnamon sugar, shaped as roses.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States