Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I believe you need WAY more cinnamon than applesauce for the right consistency. I wanted to make these with my 4 yr old son for teacher gifts and that was maybe a mistake. He was very difficult to work with. : ) They're in the oven right now but I'm sure they will be very nice when they're dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
worked wonderfully. a whole preschool class loved them. and easy! just buy quality wax paper to roll between or it will stick to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANA128

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Made these and sold them during a fundraiser. Everyone asked if they were edible. Couple of hints- "flour" your board and rolling pin with extra cinnamon so it doesn't stick. I used glitter glue and a flat head tooth pick to make the holes for the mini ornaments. A skinny stirring straw could work too. I ended up baking at 220 degrees with my oven because 200 took too long. It will come off the pan when it is dry enough, if you try to scrape it off, it will crack. The middle will appear dark on the underside if it is not completely dry. Fun to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I have made these with my preschool class and also my grandchildren. I found using a straw to make the hole for hanging, instead of a toothpick, worked better for me. It was easier for the children to control to make the hole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHYONE978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I've been making these for years and this is the recipe I have always followed The only addition I have is that sometimes, depending on the consistency of the applesauce you may need to add more 'dry' to it so that it becomes dough like. I tend to put in just a smigeon of flour to thicken it and make it easier to roll out and cut! The thicker you cut the ornaments, the longer they take to dry. I put mine in the oven on parchment paper on the lowest heat possible for an hour twenty, then flip them over and let the air dry for the rest. It takes a couple of days for them to be rock hard but it's such a wonderful gift! These make amazing gift accessories for that perfect present! Use them in wreaths or even on your Christmas tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melcia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Floris, Iowa, USA
Living In: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I loved the idea of these ornaments, but how do you keep the dough from being too sticky to handle? I had trouble getting the ornaments up and on the cooling rack once I cut them. It proved to be too much for the kids to handle and allow the cutouts to keep their shape. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
while this was a fun project with the kids, i was pretty disappointed with the final product. unless you put it to your nose, you can't smell anything, and they're very weak. you have to roll them out pretty thick for them to be sturdy enough to be tied with ribbon and hung. i will look for another recipe to try next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
i love to make these with my granddaughters,,we make them then tthe girlscouts decorate them and sell them at the annual christmas bazaar,we ad ground cloves to the recipe makes the ornaments smell amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosup, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I'm going to say, this as so so for me. The end result for the 6 ornaments I got out of the batch did great. However equal parts didn't match up for me. I ended up having to use more and more and more cinnamon to get it to a ball like stage. Then the dough stuck to the counter top, so I put on wax paper..that was a mistake because then it didn't come off the wax paper. So then I used parchment. That seem to help but by this time I was getting flustered. So I decided to shake cinnamon on the countertop like flour and that helped a lot. But after one small portion and 6 tree cut outs. I gave up. Something is a miss here. I did see someone mentioning glue. And maybe that's it. So I'll try again at a later time. And they did have a scent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and it didn't turn out right at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

All about Cinnamon

Discover the secrets of this exotic spice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States