Scented Applesauce-Cinnamon Ornaments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These were amazing. Taking the reviews into account, I used 1 cup applesauce and 1 cup cinnamon and was prepared to use more cinnamon if the consistency wasn't right. Surprisingly, the ratio was perfect! I did bake mine, as suggested, and decorated them with glue and glitter or paint. I poked the holes with a straw. Thank you for a fun project! I am not sure if the scent holds, but we'll have to wait and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I have made these ornaments with my children, 9, 7 and 4 every year! I mixed 1cup apple sauce to 1 cup cinnamon until all incorporated, then add the 1/2 cup cinnamon. Use your hands to mix everything. Once mixed it will form ball and knead. I double the batch, use a straw to make hole before I bake. I am able to make 35 ornaments. I do not add glue or flour. When rolling out, I sprinkle cinnamon on table and rolling pin. My kids decorate with beads and glitter. We add ribbon and done . Great tradition and family time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I believe you need WAY more cinnamon than applesauce for the right consistency. I wanted to make these with my 4 yr old son for teacher gifts and that was maybe a mistake. He was very difficult to work with. : ) They're in the oven right now but I'm sure they will be very nice when they're dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
worked wonderfully. a whole preschool class loved them. and easy! just buy quality wax paper to roll between or it will stick to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANA128

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Made these and sold them during a fundraiser. Everyone asked if they were edible. Couple of hints- "flour" your board and rolling pin with extra cinnamon so it doesn't stick. I used glitter glue and a flat head tooth pick to make the holes for the mini ornaments. A skinny stirring straw could work too. I ended up baking at 220 degrees with my oven because 200 took too long. It will come off the pan when it is dry enough, if you try to scrape it off, it will crack. The middle will appear dark on the underside if it is not completely dry. Fun to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I have made these with my preschool class and also my grandchildren. I found using a straw to make the hole for hanging, instead of a toothpick, worked better for me. It was easier for the children to control to make the hole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHYONE978

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I've been making these for years and this is the recipe I have always followed The only addition I have is that sometimes, depending on the consistency of the applesauce you may need to add more 'dry' to it so that it becomes dough like. I tend to put in just a smigeon of flour to thicken it and make it easier to roll out and cut! The thicker you cut the ornaments, the longer they take to dry. I put mine in the oven on parchment paper on the lowest heat possible for an hour twenty, then flip them over and let the air dry for the rest. It takes a couple of days for them to be rock hard but it's such a wonderful gift! These make amazing gift accessories for that perfect present! Use them in wreaths or even on your Christmas tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melcia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Floris, Iowa, USA
Living In: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I loved the idea of these ornaments, but how do you keep the dough from being too sticky to handle? I had trouble getting the ornaments up and on the cooling rack once I cut them. It proved to be too much for the kids to handle and allow the cutouts to keep their shape. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
while this was a fun project with the kids, i was pretty disappointed with the final product. unless you put it to your nose, you can't smell anything, and they're very weak. you have to roll them out pretty thick for them to be sturdy enough to be tied with ribbon and hung. i will look for another recipe to try next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
i love to make these with my granddaughters,,we make them then tthe girlscouts decorate them and sell them at the annual christmas bazaar,we ad ground cloves to the recipe makes the ornaments smell amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Baron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosup, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp IV

Watch how to make this top-rated apple crisp.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States