Scarlett's Best Ever Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I had to write another review. I made these again and decreased the oil and increased the sugar. They came out so much better.I had to decrease the cooking time. These are definatly a keeper now with the changes. Really good cookie everyone loves them. The revised version is now in my receipe box.Makes a lot too. but they don't last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe calls for pecans and vanilla extract, but I didn't have any nuts; so, I substituted almond extract for the vanilla. Scarlett states that they will melt in your mouth and disappear...and boy, do they ever!!! My husband hid a whole bowl of these from our 14-year-old to make sure that he would have some after the New Year!!! I had to make a double batch to make sure I had enough to put in all of the goodie baskets to give for the holidays!! This recipe is DEFINITELY a keeper!! Thanks for a wonderful, buttery, nutty flavor, melt in your mouth, easy to make cookie!!! They are light and crispy, but they stay soft and chewy at the same time. It is very difficult to describe the texture of these cookies without actually tasting them. Definitely NOT A COOKIE TO BE SHIPPED OVERSEAS!!!!! Hand deliver ONLY!!!!!! BUT make sure you make plenty and include the recipe or you will have people bugging you all year to be baking them more!! Qudos to Scarlett for a wonderful cookie recipe, whether you call it a 'sugar' or a 'sandie', it makes no difference...it is a wonderful cookie, of that there is NO DOUBT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piper City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
Great recipe! It made a great deal of dough and I froze half for another day. I rolled the cookies in cinnamon sugar and didn't use the pecans since my hubby dislikes them. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
At first I was a little afraid of all the oil in the recipe, but after sticking to the recipe, and then squishing them down with sugar on top, they were amazing! They are very airy and moist at the same time. A hint, I cooled them on a paper bag that was on top of racks because they were too fragile to just sit on the racks to cool. Great cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
These cookies turned out great. They are not chewy, but not crunchy. Instaed, they are soft and crumbly and melt in your mouth. I rolled the dough balls in a mixture of cinnamon and sugar before flattening them. I really like the flavor that way. They are a cross between a snickerdoodle, a sugar cookie and a pecan sandie, but they have a texture like no other. I'm sharing this recipe with everyone I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
It is difficult to find good no-roll sugar cookie recipes. I decided to try this one and combine it with peppermint frosting and hard candies for Christmas. My family ate 3 dozen before I even decorated them. They absolutely loved them!!! I have found a new cookie recipe. Great job, Scarlett! These cookies rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
I found the dough to be too oily, my hands were literally glistening with a thick layer of oil the cookies were oozing. Although the final product was pronounced good by my roommates, I found the cookies to be more like shortbread than sugar in flavor and consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
We LOVED this recipe! They taste like a cross between a sugar cookie and a pecan sandie - the texture is heavenly. My mom even asked me for this recipe - what a compliment! Use dark brown sugar and mexican vanilla for sweeter flavor. I suggest baking one cookie sheet of cookies then spooning the rest (making rolls) in sheets of waxed paper. Place the rolls in gallon freezer bags in the freezer. Cut, roll in sugar (even colored sugar for kids) and bake as needed. Thanks, Scarlett for a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Delicious! These are the best sugar cookies I've ever made. This is now a staple for every holiday, birthday party, and just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mashpotatobunny
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
Gosh, this cookies came out perfect! I made them once to put in gift bags for the holidays for my friends, and they tasted just average. But I made them a second time as a last minute thing for my party, and WOW, they were DELICIOUS. I baked 50 cookies both times, but the second time, used a little less butter (well, actually, I used margarine). Probably about 1/3 cup instead of the 1/2 cup. They came out nice and chewy. Everyone loved them and were totally addicted to them. This recipe is a definite keeper. Thank you for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mashpotatobunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States