Scarlett's Best Ever Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe calls for pecans and vanilla extract, but I didn't have any nuts; so, I substituted almond extract for the vanilla. Scarlett states that they will melt in your mouth and disappear...and boy, do they ever!!! My husband hid a whole bowl of these from our 14-year-old to make sure that he would have some after the New Year!!! I had to make a double batch to make sure I had enough to put in all of the goodie baskets to give for the holidays!! This recipe is DEFINITELY a keeper!! Thanks for a wonderful, buttery, nutty flavor, melt in your mouth, easy to make cookie!!! They are light and crispy, but they stay soft and chewy at the same time. It is very difficult to describe the texture of these cookies without actually tasting them. Definitely NOT A COOKIE TO BE SHIPPED OVERSEAS!!!!! Hand deliver ONLY!!!!!! BUT make sure you make plenty and include the recipe or you will have people bugging you all year to be baking them more!! Qudos to Scarlett for a wonderful cookie recipe, whether you call it a 'sugar' or a 'sandie', it makes no difference...it is a wonderful cookie, of that there is NO DOUBT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piper City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
this was the best and easiest cookie recipe ever, i took them to work and they were gone in no time and everyone wanted the recipe, sadly, I had to tell them that is was not me, but someone named scarlett...thanks, i will make these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
The first time I made this I messed up and used a cup too much butter and everyone loved them! They were difficult to bake though and crumbled too easily. The next time I made them I followed the recipe except used dark brown sugar instead of light, and made them very tiny, so I only had to cook them for 6 1/2 minutes and it made a lot more. They tasted great and the small size was nice, I brought to a house with children, and they liked being able to grab a handful of cookies. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
These are the crispiest and flakiest, melt in your mouth cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Not quite as chewy as I like but overall a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I normally prefer a soft or chewy sugar cookie, but these cookies are great. My office loved them and the whole batch was gone before I knew it. I tend to "grind" my pecans more than chop because I dont like big chunks of nuts. Comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I loved this recipe. I had to add a little more flour to the recipe so that I could roll them into balls. Great idea about puting a glass down on them w/ sugar on it. I made these to start our week of Thanksgiving daily treats for both my husband's and my work. They taste wonderful and are very light. Not an overly sweet cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
These cookies seem to get better with time. I made them yesterday and they did seem slightly dry as indicated by others. Today, however, after staying in sealed tins overnigt, they seemed to have regained some moisture and the butter flavor really came through. I made a batch with and without nuts, both are equally tasty (the kids prefer without).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I was expecting these cookies to be really great and for me they weren't. They turned out very crisp and crumbly. I enjoy a more chewy and moist sugar cookie. My kids enjoyed eating them however, so I know they won't go to waist. I also decided to substitute crushed candy canes instead of the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Okay, but a little dry. I dont know if I did anything wrong but I just think they are lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States