Scandinavian Sweetheart Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
These waffles were incredible! Easily the best homemade waffles I have ever had. They're very light and fluffy and the little bit of spice makes them heavenly and unique. The only thing I changed was using vanilla extract instead of vanilla sugar because it was all I had and it seemed to work perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dakota Puckett Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made exactly according to recipe and offered our guests the traditional maple syrup, whipped cream (here in Finland it is traditional, go figure), or Citrus Wild Blueberry Sauce from this site as toppings. This was our brunch last Sunday and we gobbled these babies up. Wonderful. Fluffy while thin, the cardamom becomes a slight hint of flavor after a few bites (with that I mean that it is not overwhelming as it can get in some Northern desserts like bullar) and just great. I would only like to mention that I had to double this recipe to feed four people. one child had two of these, and the three adults had three whole waffles each -that is 12 hearts per person,the whole thing as it comes off the iron- because well, yes, they are as thin as thick pancakes. For those wondering how to measure 1/3 cup into your iron: a regular soup ladle full is just about the right size :) Thank you for the recipe, we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Worked excellent on our George Foreman grille (with waffle attachments). I used the vanilla extract as I had no vanilla sugar. Also added 1 tablespoon of lemon juice to 2% milk to make buttermilk. If I can pull this off anybody can, I am the furthest thing from a master in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These waffles tasted delicious! I followed recipe exactly, except vanilla extract instead of vanilla sugar, and used an All-Clad brand waffle maker on setting 3. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Super delicious and yummy!!!!!!! Been looking for a waffle recipe for a while now. It is now my go to waffle recipe. Instead of buttermilk I used 2% milk, and also used vanilla extract in place of vanilla sugar; because I didn't have either of these in my kitchen. It still turned out very nice! Thank you ScandoGirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I love this recipe! I didn't have buttermilk so I substituted plain lowfat yogurt and a little milk, and it seemed to have worked great! Next time I'll try it with less sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Great Norwegian wafler recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This recipe turned out delicious! I am not one for thick belgian waffles, and these thinner Scandinavian waffles are a better, healthier alternative. I did not have any vanilla sugar, so I simply substituted vanilla extract. Definitely keeping this one in mind for future breakfasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hunniebuns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States