Scandinavian Almond Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
I found this recipe a while back in a cookbook and made it as part of my Christmas baking. Everybody always raved about it. This year I had moved and packed away my recipes so I couldn't make it. Fortunately, I found this recipe again and can make it for next year (if I still haven't unpacked my other recipes!). Thanks Marji for providing this great cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I used this recipe for a party, and everyone loved it! I ended up not having any allspice or almond extract, so I substituted vanilla extract, and a total 1/4 teaspoon combined of cinnamon, cardomon and nutmeg. The cookies turned out just chewy enough, and not too sweet. The recipe was just right. Definately something easy that I'll make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
I served these at a fund raising dinner for dessert w/ vanilla bean ice cream and was asked over and over for the recipe! An excellent cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Thanks, Marji. This is a great recipe. My only change was to up the almond extract by 1/4 tsp. in both the dough and the icing (because I really like a pronounced almond flavor), & since I didn't have slivered almonds, I used crushed toasted unblanched almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I have made these bars twice now and both times I have been disappointed. Although the flavour is nice, I find that the bars turn out with an almost raw like texture even with baking longer than stated. I dont think I will add this to my favourites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I've made these bars six or seven times now and have added this recipe to my "favorites" recipe box. Everyone in my family raves about them and prefers them to all other cookies and bars. I make the icing thicker by reducing the milk to 2 tablespoons and then drizzling it on. To make them more colorful I tint the icing pink. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I've been making these for years and they are the best! They are my standard Holiday cookie, and everyone always asks for them. Taste and look like you slaved away, but they are pretty simple. The recipe also doubles well, which is important because otherwise my husband eats so many I don't have enough to give away!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This is the most fantastic recipe, and really easy! It looks like you worked hard though! I drizzle a powdered sugar glaze over the cookies in different colors depending on the occasion: ie: red & green @ Christmas, pastels in the spring. It is one of our all-time favorites, and even won second place in a Taste of Home magazine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Mmmm, these are SO good! Absurdly easy to make, and they are just delicious - chewy, light, not overly-sweet. I didn't even bother with the drizzle; they were fabulous without. I will definitely be adding this to (my very limited) Thanksgiving/Christmas cookie 'collection.' Thanks so much, Marji!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I make these cookies every year to give as part of my Christmas cookie tin gifts. Everyone loves them and asks for the recipe. They are one of my daugthers favorites as well and making them at Christmas has become a tradition for us. Thanks Marji for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States