Scandinavian Almond Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I just made a "test batch" of these cookies to see if they would be good enough for my annual Christmas cookies gift bags. I tried them out on random cookie testers (friends) for objective opinions, and they all agreed that they are good! A few notes: They needed the full baking time in my oven and heavy aluminum baking pans, maybe even 16 minutes. Being a little on the crispy side is better. I might add a touch more almond flavoring next time, but not much. I thought 12 cookies per bar was a bit unrealistic. I cut mine in "normal" sizes and got 8 or 9, not counting the odd-shaped end pieces. I felt that the glaze made them a little TOO sweet for my tastes, and will also make them more difficult to store without sticking together. I might leave that off next time. It should definitely go on when they are totally cool. Putting it on earlier seems to make them a bit soggy. I loved the crispiness and the crunch of the almonds on top. For taste and simplicity, this recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
These are DELICIOUS. I made exactly as ingredients stated except I added a bit extra almond to the icing. I rolled on Parchment paper than pulled it on to the cookie sheets. Rolled with rolling pin was faster and easier, then cut with a knife. Cut them again while hot. ROLL THIN for best "crunch" results. My hubby loves these, as do I. Thanks Marji.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Looked so good, I couldn't wait for the holidays to make them. Easy and delicious--and nice appearance. Excellent even without the glaze, so I did half with and half without. Will definitely make again--probably soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Solomons, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
excellent recipe. i added more almond extract as well (doubled). i also divided almonds, used half as written in recipe then made sugared almonds by mixing almonds and a tablespoon of sugar in pan on stove (medium high heat) until sugar melted, coating the almonds, then spread on wax paper to cool. after glazing cookies, i sprinkled the coated almolds on top of glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
First time making them and they turned out PERFECT- a little extra almond extract went in but it worked out in the cookie's favor! (ended up being a full teaspoon) Unlike the other review saying they had to add an egg bc it was too dry, the consistency was spot on for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is a great recipe! I've been to two cookie parties in the past week and these cookies were a huge hit. I use the following ways to cut down on clean-up. I use parchment paper, a rolling pin, a pizza cutter and a 3x5 index card. Wrap a piece of parchment paper around the log. Roll flat with the rolling pin. A 3x5 index card makes a nice tool for measuring width. Sprinkle almonds onto dough, press down into dough with parchemnt paper. Bake on parchement paper and voila! no clean-up. TEN minutes after removing from oven, use pizza cutter to cut strips into diagonals. Use a good quality ziplock bag to ice cookies. Put icing in bag, press out air, close and cut a TEENY hole in one corner. Again, no clean-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEHEM513

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Hinesburg, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I LOVE THESE! I was in the military and moved a lot. With all those moves somewhere I lost my recipe for these. Thank you so much for posting them. Recipe is perfect for me as it is... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: North Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I've been making these cookies for a long time and get asked for them by coworkers all the time. ( I'm the baker at work ) I dont make them very often because I love them too!! But they are easy and great with a cup of coffee or tea because they aren't to sweet. Thanks so much for posting so I didn't have to dig through old magazines for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Delicious and simple. Perfect to go with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
What a great cookie! I didn't have any almond extract, so I used vanilla extract instead. I was worried that this would take away from the flavor and make it taste too much like a regular sugar cookie, but it really tasted great! Also, I didn't have slivered almonds, just whole ones, so I chopped up a good amount using my food chopper and sprinkled that on top instead. Worked like a charm! Even my hubby, who is a picky eater and doesn't particularly like almonds, kept asking for one after the other. Also, I didn't use nearly as much icing as the recipe called for. I drizzled a little on very lightly and had quite a bit left over. I didn't want the cookies to come out too sweet, so using just a bit of icing worked great. I probably used only half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States