Scandinavian Almond Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Wonderful! These were not only amazing to eat, but they also smelled terrific. I doubled the almond extract (I LOVE the smell/taste of almonds...so if you're a big almond fan, I recommend this) and ended up adding an extra egg because my dough wasn't moist enough. This gave the cookies an even lighter consistancy and REALLY made them melt in your mouth. I will be making these again soon...thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nitro, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
You know what.....these were REALLY GOOD. I only made them because they didn't look too hard and I had almonds to use up. I made them to take to the In-Laws, but ended up snatching a few for my own personal stash. Surprisingly elegant considering their simplicity. And yes, a pizza cutter does make the slicing bit easier. Great cookie to have with coffee or tea...and the extras (if you have any) can be stored in the freezer. Just let them sit out for a bit to thaw (doesn't take long).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I make these cookies every year to give as part of my Christmas cookie tin gifts. Everyone loves them and asks for the recipe. They are one of my daugthers favorites as well and making them at Christmas has become a tradition for us. Thanks Marji for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
These are wonderful! Perfect for tea, or really anytime. I'm going to use a pizza cutter next time which I think will make it easier to cut in diagonal lines. I've had many, many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Mmmm, these are SO good! Absurdly easy to make, and they are just delicious - chewy, light, not overly-sweet. I didn't even bother with the drizzle; they were fabulous without. I will definitely be adding this to (my very limited) Thanksgiving/Christmas cookie 'collection.' Thanks so much, Marji!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
I've made these bars six or seven times now and have added this recipe to my "favorites" recipe box. Everyone in my family raves about them and prefers them to all other cookies and bars. I make the icing thicker by reducing the milk to 2 tablespoons and then drizzling it on. To make them more colorful I tint the icing pink. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I've been making these for years and they are the best! They are my standard Holiday cookie, and everyone always asks for them. Taste and look like you slaved away, but they are pretty simple. The recipe also doubles well, which is important because otherwise my husband eats so many I don't have enough to give away!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paradise, California, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This is the most fantastic recipe, and really easy! It looks like you worked hard though! I drizzle a powdered sugar glaze over the cookies in different colors depending on the occasion: ie: red & green @ Christmas, pastels in the spring. It is one of our all-time favorites, and even won second place in a Taste of Home magazine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
These are my favorite cookies to make for a reception or similar event. They are easy to make, taste great and look very pretty on a tray of cookies. The glaze dresses them up and makes them attractive, but the taste is fine without the glaze. They also freeze well (they don't stick together).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Couldn't find a copy of my recipe and thought I would be without this year. So, I was thrilled to see this recipe here. I've been making these every year for Christmas as long as I can remember. Easiest cookie recipe - therefore, the one that ALWAYS gets made. But they look like you really worked hard to make them - and Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States