Scandinavian Almond Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Delicious and simple. Perfect to go with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
What a great cookie! I didn't have any almond extract, so I used vanilla extract instead. I was worried that this would take away from the flavor and make it taste too much like a regular sugar cookie, but it really tasted great! Also, I didn't have slivered almonds, just whole ones, so I chopped up a good amount using my food chopper and sprinkled that on top instead. Worked like a charm! Even my hubby, who is a picky eater and doesn't particularly like almonds, kept asking for one after the other. Also, I didn't use nearly as much icing as the recipe called for. I drizzled a little on very lightly and had quite a bit left over. I didn't want the cookies to come out too sweet, so using just a bit of icing worked great. I probably used only half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bonnie
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
These were terrific. Thanks for sharing. They had a gorgeous appearance as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Wonderful cookies taste great and are pretty too! I skipped the icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Ehhhh. Not exactly what I expected. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyRJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
great recipe! I put an extra teaspoon of almond extract in batter, which made the icing unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brytness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Marji, THANK YOU! You have brought a very happy memory to life and, if my Norwegian grandmother (who died 30 years ago today, not realizing her dream of making me a baker) were alive, she'd be doing handstands (at the ripe age of 115). I finally made some MARVELOUS cookies (so marvelous that I forgot to make the icing!)! The icing on the cake (no pun intended) is that they were a staple of our Norwegian family, and just the very first recipe that my grandmother tried to teach me. Thank you for the melt-in-your-mouth. almost marzipan, recipe. This will become a regular in our household (even without the nuts, which hubby can't eat -- I made half with and half without almonds). An added plus is that my Canadian-Irish hubby said that they were "sex in a cookie". I had to put them away so that there would be some left for tomorrow. Mange takk, Marji!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
For awhile I was making cookies every two weeks to mail to my boyfriend. These turned out the best and lasted the best in the mail. He really enjoyed them. I love the almonds and the drizzle that goes on top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I have made this recipe at least 20 times, and every time people rave and ask for the recipe. My family loves it, and I always have to make a double batch to even get through the night. Really, really good. I use creamer (1/2 & 1/2) for the top and a lot of almonds...more than the picture shows. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Don't skip the icing on these. It really makes them! I've been making these for years. I usually add a little extra almond extract to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States