Scallops with White Wine Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was a very good recipe after making alterations per others' reviews--sear scallops in the pan, remove, build the sauce (reduce wine first, then add other ingredients), then throw the scallops back in to finish. Nice, fast dish. I served it with shrimp risotto, but I think doubling the sauce and using pasta would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Pretty good sauce. Used 2 cloves garlic. Put sauce over sauteed bay scallops. Served over rice with herbs de Provence, recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars, mostly for the sauce. Other reviewers weren't kidding - it is unbelievably excellent! I can't remember enjoying the first bite of anything so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ_FELTUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I thought this recipe was good but would be best served over pasta and by doubling the sauce. I have had better scallop dishes but this was good. I would personally add some extra garlic to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Great recipe! I also double the sauce as many reviewers have suggested plus I add fresh parsley & crushed red pepper. I have served over whole wheat angel hair as well as long grain brown rice & prefer the rice since it absorbs more of this great sauce! This sauce has become a staple & works well with any type of seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I used shrimp, rather than scallops, which worked well. I did add a little Old Bay to the shrimp and cooked them right in the sauce. Served over bow tie pasta. This was good and hubby liked it, but I thought it was lacking some pizzazz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Fantastic! I also doubled the sauce (better to have too much) and used chardonnay but only used 1/2 the butter called for and it was plenty. I used cod, shrimp, and scallops brushed lightly with olive oil, then lightly seasoned with salt, pepper, and old bay. Definitely a great sauce for any whitefish and shellfish. Will be making again soon! Served this with baked potato and steamed vegetable medley, but will try it with pasta next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
OMG! This was delicious. I wanted to make a surf and turf dinner so I decided to try this recipe and I was not disappointed. My husband loved it also. I followed the recipe to a "T". Next time I may add some additional ingredients, but it is fantastic as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
It was fantastik-we added a little more garlic and used green onions in the place of shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was my first time cooking scallops and this dish turned out great! Love the rich yet light buttery sauce - served over linguine with a side of green beans - perfect dinner! I did double the sauce and used 1.5 pounds of scallops and thought that was a good ratio. Will definitely make this again - simple yet elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States