Scallops with White Wine Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I really enjoyed this. I cut the butter back to 3 tbsp, and it was enough. I also couldn't find 'white wine vinegar,' so I used white balsamic instead. My boyfriend and I served this with scallops and shark steaks and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. We read the other reviews and took some ideas from them. I only used 3 tbsp of butter and added cayenne and minced garlic to the sauce. I wish I had made more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I really liked this sauce. I made it more of a Seafood pasta type sauce by adding fresh chopped Garlic, Garlic powder, Old Bay seasoning and Parmesan cheese. I made this with Shrimp instead of scallops for my boyfriend (I love all seafood so it doesn't matter to me). Next time I will add more wine and less vinegar. Very tasty. I think that the amount of butter called for was perfect for me. If you play with this recipe and make it your own, it'll be a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I have made this many times. I only use 3 or 4 tbs of butter. The sauce is excellent and I use it on many different things. Try tossing butternut squash ravioli in this sauce. An earlier picture posted with this recipe showed the scallops and sauce with a filet mignon. That was great as well. I'm better at pan searing the scallops than doing them in the oven, but it still works as writen. Thank's for this recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MS33W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
This won over my boyfriend when we first started dating! I used tarragon vinegar and added some havarti dill and romano. Also a dash of worcheshire sauce. I served it over angel hair pasta with fresh asparagus as garnish on the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
My mistake on this one. I did not read the directions carefully and put the butter in first before the reduction of the cream. Could that have made it curdle? I also used light cream instead of heavy cream. Could that have made it curdle? Everything went wrong on this. I had to throw it out. I am optimistic and will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This is excellent. I added a pinch of garlic powder and I used lemon pepper on the scallops instead of plain pepper. Also cut wa-a-ay back on the butter. But still an awesome dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I made this last evening and it was fantastic. I put the scallops on a steak and drizzeled the sauce on top - restaurant quality. I added garlic, a pinch of cayenne pepper and a pinch of nutmeg to give it a kind of 'Lobster Newburg' taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This was great! I wouldnt change a thing! I had it over cocous (sp?) with pine nuts. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Great sauce. I seared the scallops in a cast iron pan with the oil, then removed and let them finish baking in the oven. I then added the wine and deglazed the pan and added the rest of the ingredients. I only used one tbsp of butter and next time I will also cut the heavy cream to 1/4 cup. The scallops were tender and the sauce was great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States