Scallops with White Wine Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I made this exactly the way the recipe was written and it was delicious! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This was delicious but too much butter. I used just a couple of tablespoons and it was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
The scallops came out good but the sauce was a disaster because the recipe calls for way too much butter. I was skeptical about the butter so I only used 1/2 cup, which still seemed like a lot. After everything was added and I was keeping the sauce warm, the sauce, which now mostly consisted of butter, began to separate. I had no choice but to throw it out and eat the scallops without any sauce. I might try this recipe again but it will be with only about 2 TBSP of butter, not the 3/4 cup that the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Excellent. I agree that the sauce should be made last to keep proper consistancy. My only problem, I doubled the recipe and still did not have enough sauce. Great flavor though. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I think my mistake was making the sauce too early (it really should be made dead last). I tried to keep it warm by seating the pot in a pot of boiling water and covering, but it didn't work. The sauce (which had looked thick and oozy fabulous) separated and I had a layer of melted butter atop a layer of cream. I brought it to a rolling boil hoping to salvage it, but it was a disaster. Looked and tasted awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
holy hannah...i just made this delicious dish tonight for myself and my girlfriend...i have yet to receive a review from her but i thought it was FANTASTIC...i had the sauce on both the scallops and a serving of steamed broccoli...both were utterly delicious...compliments to the chef ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
It was my husband's night to cook and he decided to try this recipe. We didn't have the cream so he substituted sour cream. The scallops came out great!! Of course, he patted himself on the back for being such a great cook. Easy meal to make. I (he!)will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
i too used half and half instead of full cream and it curdled immediately. Will try next time with whole cream, sounds good... haven't given up yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
Everyone raved over this recipe. I think I may have overcooked the sauce because it started to break, although it was easily reconstituted by whisking. The taste was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
The sauce is superb. I used 1/2 fresh lemon juice with just a touch of vinegar, added minced garlic and 1/2 C chicken broth and only 2 T butter. I think the key here is to let the sauce simmer for about 20 minutes to allow the flavors in the sauce to blend. My husband and nephew were fighting for the scallop. The sauce was also excellent over the brown rice I served. Thanks for another keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States