Scallops with White Wine Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
VERY VERY GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Loved it! Did not read others reviews, but used the recipe as a base and tailored to our tastes. Dried the scallops very well, seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic. Pan seared really quick and finished in the oven. Didn't use any vinegar in the sauce, just wine, but added some crushed garlic, white pepper, and sage, and not as much butter. Our company thought they were in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duryea, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I loved this. I did sear scallops in saucepan using a little olive oil and then finish in oven at 350. Cut back on vinegar 1/8 cp and increased white wine. I also used champagne vinegar because it is what I had and was very good. Added garlic and onion to sauce. Also a pinch of nutmeg, cayenne, white pepper and a little salt. The sauce almost tastes like cheese and is super rich. Was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
the sauce is called "beurre blanc". it works in all seafood dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
The sauce is divine! My boyfriend was so crazy about this dish. Killer fattening but once in a while memorable treat! Made just instructed in recipe,but I did not have sea scallops ~ I had teh smaller bay scallops. Requires a bit more attention to not overcook the scallops, but just as delicious. Will definitely make this again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PGELS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenwold, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Very rich and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
fantastic recipe! just added some chopped fresh garlic to the sauce at the same time as the shallots and cut a little bit of the butter and it was perfect. thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
i dont know what i did wrong but this sauce tasted like mayonaise, and not in a good way. i wouldnt make again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this for New Year's Eve dinner, doubling the sauce though decreasing the amount of butter by about 1/2 c. I added 1/2 +/- tsp of dijon mustard to taste and sauteed sliced baby bella mushrooms. We all thought we'd died and gone to heaven. Be sure to dry the scallops very well between a couple sheets of paper towels, you may have to change the towels to be sure the scallops are dry enough. I put them on a plate in the refrigerator for an hour or more, changing the paper towels twice; doing this avoids the spattering from wet scallops and the hot oil. The dry scallops also sear rather than steam. I used a cast iron pan, got it very hot, added the oil and seared. Don't over crowd the pan, and don't over cook the scallops or they will turn into chewy pieces of rubber. Remember they keep cooking after they are off the heat. Use fresh sea scallops if you can get them, if they are too big, cut them in half. Don't use bay scallops and avoid frozen scallops. The taste and texture of frozen are just not the same as fresh. If you use frozen be sure to take extra time for defrosting and even more time drying the excess moisture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walpole, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Great sauce for anything. We used it on chicken, but we were wishing we had eaten seafood with it because of the acidity of the sauce. It was wonderful. Also, we added wine and vinegar to it, and still only used about 5 tblsp of butter in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayes, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States