Scallops with White Wine Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
The idea of this recipe is great, and from tasting as I cooked it was very good, until the butter. I HIGHLY suggest no more than one or two tablespoon of butter. My instincts told me 3/4 cup would be overwhelming but I did it any way, I was left with $17 worth of buttery scallops and clogged arteries. My doc is going to kill me when he checks my blood again, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris & Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I didn't have shallots or fresh onion on hand so I used a little dried, minced onion. It was still really good. My husband and I really enjoyed these as an anniversary appetizer (changed the servings to 2).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Essheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This recipe was delicious and easy to make. The calculator is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I used a sprinkle of onion powder in place of the shallots, and half and half for the heavy cream (trying to reduce calories). I sprinkled the plate with some parsley for presentation. These were really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was a great start to a wonderful sauce, though I did make changes. I ended up using an extra 1/4 cup of cream, and added Old Bay, salt, pepper, and nutmeg. Served over shrimp and angel hair pasta, and sprinkled a bit of parmesan on at the end. It is a lot of butter, but with a little extra cream and a lot of whisking I think it came out great! Husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
white sauce rocks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Delicious! I did not have white wine vinegar and substituted with balsamic vinegar. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
So easy to make, yet tastes like you were slaving in the kitchen all day. The sauce is rich but so worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for Easter Dinner and it was Delish and easy! I served over a bed of angel hair pasta with steamed asparagus and paired with a really nice Chardonay. I used the large sea scallops. Definately cut down the butter to 2-3 tablespoons, this tasted perfect, so I stopped at 3 tablespoons. Remember to taste as you go with the butter, you don't need 3/4 cup. Used 1 clove garlic and added a splach more wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
VERY VERY GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States