Scallops Poulette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Didn't care for this at all. Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this recipe on the stove top instead of the microwave. It's very simple to make even that way. I made a few changes to the recipe, and it came out absolutely delicious. I used sliced baby bella mushrooms instead of from a can; I didn't use the egg because the sauce was already thick enough, and it was fine without it. I also let it simmer altogether with the milk instead of adding it later. I served it over pasta and enjoyed every single bite. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Very good! Doubled the sauce but other than that we followed the recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I could not see doing this in the microwave for fear of turning the scallops into rubber. Unlike sea scallops, bay scallops are small (about the size of a dime), and this recipe calls for a total of 11 minutes cooking time at high. With the price of scallops, I was not about to risk ending up with something overcooked and inedible. I cooked this on the stovetop, and it still was very quick, and I used freshly-sliced mushrooms rather than canned. I served over a bed of angel hair pasta, and the flavor was pretty good. I could see grating some freshly-grated parmesan over the top making it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Nice Recipe. Good for you using wine in any recipe; making it, if not French, certainly more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
The recipe was good. I used the stovetop instead of the microwave and had a good result. Next time I will add maybe 1/2 clove of minced garlic and a splash more lemon juice. Excellent idea, I wouldn't have invented that on my own;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very flavorful. I also used fresh mushrooms, to use canned would be a shame. The sauce was a bit too thick so I thinned it out with more wine. I did this whole recipe in a frying pan, I don't care for microwave cooking. It turned out perfect! I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was very good, but I substituted fresh mushrooms for canned and I didn't use the microwave. Instead, I made the roux in the frying pan, and while I was doing that, I sauteed the mushrooms seperately. Then I added them to the roux (thickened butter/flour mixture), along with the half & half, wine, etc., and let that reduce a little while I sauteed the scallops, adding one small garlic clove to the scallops when they were almost done. The sauce was a little too thick, so I added addt'l wine and lemon juice to thin it out a little, and then added the scallops to the cream mixture. I served them over angel hair pasta, along w/fresh asparagus and a warmed baguette. It was very good, but I wished I had some chicken broth to thin it out and lighten the sauce a little. (I don't like heavy cream sauces, so it might be perfect for someone who does.)Next time, I will reduce the half & half to 1/4 cup, and use 1/4 cup chicken broth, having more on hand to add if needed. Also, I didn't add in the bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States