Scallops Poulette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I made this recipe on the stove top instead of the microwave. It's very simple to make even that way. I made a few changes to the recipe, and it came out absolutely delicious. I used sliced baby bella mushrooms instead of from a can; I didn't use the egg because the sauce was already thick enough, and it was fine without it. I also let it simmer altogether with the milk instead of adding it later. I served it over pasta and enjoyed every single bite. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I could not see doing this in the microwave for fear of turning the scallops into rubber. Unlike sea scallops, bay scallops are small (about the size of a dime), and this recipe calls for a total of 11 minutes cooking time at high. With the price of scallops, I was not about to risk ending up with something overcooked and inedible. I cooked this on the stovetop, and it still was very quick, and I used freshly-sliced mushrooms rather than canned. I served over a bed of angel hair pasta, and the flavor was pretty good. I could see grating some freshly-grated parmesan over the top making it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was very good, but I substituted fresh mushrooms for canned and I didn't use the microwave. Instead, I made the roux in the frying pan, and while I was doing that, I sauteed the mushrooms seperately. Then I added them to the roux (thickened butter/flour mixture), along with the half & half, wine, etc., and let that reduce a little while I sauteed the scallops, adding one small garlic clove to the scallops when they were almost done. The sauce was a little too thick, so I added addt'l wine and lemon juice to thin it out a little, and then added the scallops to the cream mixture. I served them over angel hair pasta, along w/fresh asparagus and a warmed baguette. It was very good, but I wished I had some chicken broth to thin it out and lighten the sauce a little. (I don't like heavy cream sauces, so it might be perfect for someone who does.)Next time, I will reduce the half & half to 1/4 cup, and use 1/4 cup chicken broth, having more on hand to add if needed. Also, I didn't add in the bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Very good! Doubled the sauce but other than that we followed the recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very flavorful. I also used fresh mushrooms, to use canned would be a shame. The sauce was a bit too thick so I thinned it out with more wine. I did this whole recipe in a frying pan, I don't care for microwave cooking. It turned out perfect! I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
The recipe was good. I used the stovetop instead of the microwave and had a good result. Next time I will add maybe 1/2 clove of minced garlic and a splash more lemon juice. Excellent idea, I wouldn't have invented that on my own;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Nice Recipe. Good for you using wine in any recipe; making it, if not French, certainly more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Didn't care for this at all. Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States